New Year Book Resolutions!!

So, as per usual, I have made a few resolutions for the year of 2010. I admit that I cannot honestly recall the goals I made for the past year, so I cannot really sum up how I did in 2009. I know I did fairly poor, in comparison to other years. But I had never been so busy as this past fall semester, what with methods and working.
 

Here are some small goals for 2010:

  1. Read at least 5 books that are published in 2010
    I have a horrible tendency to read older books and completely disregard new books. While it isn’t exactly bad that I like to read older books, it is bad that I usually don’t read new releases. So I’m going to try to stay current this year.
  2. Do not read any book that has to do with Jane Austen
    Most of you know that I love JA to death. And, while that isn’t bad, I tend to blow off other books I’d like to read in order to re-read JA or read books about her, fiction or not. So, except for Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which has carried over from 2009 (I’m still in the middle of it), I will not read anymore books concerning JA.
  3. Read at least 26 books
    That’s a book every 2 weeks. I will be getting busier with student teaching and job hunting (I graduate in May) and wedding planning that I doubt I will be able to do anymore than this.
  4. Finish all challenges that I decide to participate in
    This is quite obvious. As of now, I am in 2 challenges, but I may join a couple more throughout the year.

In the essence of keeping track of these resolutions, I will use the more general “challenges” category, but also create a “2010 Resolutions” category. I consider challenges and resolutions to all be goals, so that’s why they’re together.

Anyone else making some resolutions for 2010?

4 thoughts on “New Year Book Resolutions!!

  1. Michelle says:

    Good luck! I’m still working on my goals. I think they aren’t going to be numerical. But maybe try to keep certain ratios to make sure I’m reading the types of books I want to read.

    • Kristie says:

      That sounds like a good idea :o) Some of my goals overlap a little, so that really helps. Plus, since one of my goals is to NOT read certain things, I think that will be easier to do.

  2. Sabine says:

    Yes, me! 🙂 I plan to read 52 books in 2010. I hope we both keep track!

  3. […] Year Published: 2010 Source: library Rating: 5/5 counts towards: Historical Fiction Challenge and 2010 Resolutions (read at least five 2010 […]

Leave a Reply

