Blast from the Past: Search for Delicious

The Search for Delicious by Natalie Babbit
March 5, 2007–167 pages–fairy tale-esque
Recommended by Mrs. Bernardo, 3rd grade
★★★★★

The book that started it all. In third grade, that would be 10 years ago {1997, 15 years ago as of this post}, Mrs. Bernardo read this book to our class. It was the book that made me start to read and love it. it’s just a simple story: a young boy goes around a kingdom to take a poll of what is “delicious” to everyone so the Primer Minister could use the food with the most votes as “delicious” in his dictionary he makes for the King. There were a few adventures and the King’s brother-in-law tried to make the kingdom go to war with one another, but his plans were foiled with the help of a mermaid. In the end, water was what was decided to be “delicious”. I still liked this story, especially with its simplicity. I just reread it yesterday, all in a day, and I realize why this story could make me want to read more when I was 9. I think I’ll have to invest in a copy when I start having kids because it’s a great bedtime story, but not an all-in-one night bedtime story.

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a comment