Blast from the Past: Lysistrata

Lysistrata by Aristophanes
March 3-4, 2007–80 pages–play (comedy)
411 BC = first known performance in Athens
Recommended indirectly by Ian Mladjov (World Civ prof.)
Borrowed from WCDPL
★★★★★

I was taking notes in World Civs when my prof talked about the ancient Greek comedien Aristophanes. He mentioned Lysistrata as a play in which the women of Athens and Sparta, being tired of their husbands always being at war, staged a sex strike until peace was made. That’s what I found, in a more humorous way than I thought I’d find. It was great! I especially liked the men walking around with erections 🙂 The translation was English I could easily understand, but I’ll never learn Greek so I won’t ever be able to judge how true to the original the translation is.

“Life with women is hell. Life without women is hell, too.” Koryphaios of Men, p73

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

2 thoughts on “Blast from the Past: Lysistrata

  1. Carl V. says:

    I picked up a copy of this in a used bookstore a few years ago when we were on vacation and keep meaning to read it. It sounds like such a fun book.

  2. I’ve never read this one but it sounds like fun!

    That quote – I wonder if this is where that line, “Women: can’t live with ’em, can’t live without ’em” originated from? (I can’t remember who first used that line, but I vaguely remember an old 80s movie?)

Leave a Reply

