Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon {April 2016}

hour14-e1461367263924

It’s been officially 3.5 years since I last participated in any of the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. It might be silly to think that I’ll be able to participate tomorrow, what with the 20-month-old toddler and the husband who doesn’t understand why I’d want to read for 24 hours. But I’m going to try to do as much as I can. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get at least 12 hours among all the chaos.

I believe the start time for my time zone is 8am, but I’m going to get up at 7am and start early–that way, I’m already an hour ahead, if Madi or Nick cut into my reading time later in the day. I’ve got all caught up with my housework, but the dishes will have to go for a day without getting done 😉 Aww, shucks…

Here is my meager pile:
image

  • I Want My Epidural Back by Karen Alpert
    This is my comic relief book, for if I need a break from a more serious book. I loved her I Heart My Little A-Holes a year or two ago. Hers are quick reads, for me.
  • The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks
    I’ve read all her stuff so far and I love it all. This will be my first book to start.
  • Waistcoats and Weaponry by Gail Carriger
    Another authoress whose books I’ve always loved.
  • A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash
    This is my current bookclub pick. Might as well use the readathon to get a jumpstart on it, right?

I’m a slow reader, so I’m sure I’ll probably only FINISH one book throughout the day, probably I Want My Epidural Back, in all honesty. But I’m hoping to finish one of the fiction by the end of the day.

I’ll try to update every hour or two, but I won’t post the actual reviews until the next few days come–unless I want a break from reading and stick with the blog for awhile. Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon {April 2016}

  1. Lucia says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re participating as well!
    This is my first read-a-thon and I hope I can make it. I’ve already done all the houseworks for the weekend, but I have to work a couple of hours in the afternoon (the start time for my zone is 2pm) and I’m attending a show tonight, so I have a small list of books.

    I look forward your reviews of those books. Good luck, Kristie!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

