Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloé Kardashian

25434370TITLE: Strong Looks Better Naked
AUTHOR: Khloé Kardashian
LENGTH: 216 pages
PUBLISHED IN: 2015
GENRE: non-fiction (personal development)
ISBN: 9781942872481
REASON FOR READING: Truth be told, I’m a fan of Keeping Up with the Kardashians and Khloé is probably my favorite of the sisters because I think I’m more like her than the others.
RATING: 5/5

DESCRIPTION (book jacket):
“Over the last three years, I’ve transformed my body, my mind, and my heart. I’ve never been stronger or happier or more grounded. I hope this book inspires you to build your own form of personal strength. One baby step at a time! That is my philosophy: Small changes and small steps can transform your life.
At the end of the day, it’s really quite simple.
Baby steps.
You want to be strong. You have to believe in yourself to get there. True strength comes from looking at yourself with fresh eyes, from having faith, from becoming your own cheerleader. Finding your inner strength is a journey. Nobody else can do it for you.
You want to be healthy. You want to be happy. Be mindful–about the way you approach life, and about the things you can do to change your approach to life.
It is not that difficult. I promise. If you begin with just thirty minutes of exercise a day, the rest of it–mind, heart, spirit–will begin to change.”
~~Khloé Kardashian

My Thoughts: I admit, when it comes to reading books written by celebrities, I’m skeptical. I have no reason to think so, but in the back of my mind I wonder things like “Did this person even actually write this book or did they hire a ghostwriter?” or “Why does this person think they have the ability to write a book, just because their name is big enough to get people to read it?” Skeptical as I might be, I really wanted to read this book. Khloé is the sister I think is most relatable for me–her and Kourtney are pretty even; Kim is the one I can’t stand, to be honest.

I think this book was really great. There are three parts–she focuses on health, heart, and mind. She doesn’t use fancy words or phrases, it really is a lot like listening to someone just talk. There are quite a few quotes throughout the book by wise, old people (MLK, Mark Twain, Maya Angelou, etc.) which help illustrate her points. I found her sharing her personal stories to depict how similar her life is to others’–though her job is obviously quite different from those of most. She motivates people to treat themselves better, treat yourself as well as you would treat someone else. (Makes me think of the Parks & Rec “Treat yo’self!” episodes 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

