i seriously need to read more

I’ve got to say, I’m quite ashamed with myself. I have just not been reading lately. Right now, I don’t even have an excuse, as I’m not working for the summer (yay school-schedule!). I could use pregnancy as an excuse, you know, prepping for the baby in September and all. But that’s just not true. Honestly, while I’ve done some prepping for Baby, it’s not like it consumes my entire day–even when I get “crafty” and make something for the nursery, it doesn’t take more than a few hours in a single day. And even things like cleaning the house can’t take THAT long, right?

One legitimate reason I haven’t been “reading” as much lately is because the CD player in my car went all screwy. And if it doesn’t give me back the CDs I put in–which belong to the library, always–I’m hesitant to risk listening to audiobooks. Why don’t I just put them on my phone and play them through the speakers of my car? Well, I’ve never liked doing that very much. Perhaps it’s because I still see my phone as mostly for calls and texts–and updating Facebook–more than I see it as a storage device, which it technically is.

I think my major problem with reading lately is this. When I worked at the daycare for about 1.5 years, I read during the couple of hours a day when naptime was taking place. Previously, I read at home when I wanted to, which was probably for a few hours a few days a week. But the daycare habit ruined me. It turned me into a reader who simply read when I was bored and had seriously no other options–again, I don’t use my phone to play games really and catching up on the latest pins on Pinterest and status updates on Facebook only takes so long. Now that I don’t have a 2-3 hour window of time every day to read a book, I find myself not reading at all. Because at home after work there’s re-runs on TV to watch, so I’m not “bored” enough to read.

In 2014, I’ve read two books. JUST TWO!!!

I know my 2014 page says I’ve read three, but I know I only read about 70 pages in January before I finished it–I read the majority in the fall/winter of 2013. Since I have the time now, I think I’d like to get back into the habit of reading daily. Maybe then, when Baby comes in September, I’ll still manage to read a couple days a week. I actually would like to re-read some books from my past that I really liked out loud while I tend to Baby. Will I have the desire to do that when the time comes? Who knows. But for now, I’m reading some aloud daily. (Right now it’s mostly so Baby can hear my voice–I mean, I’m at home all day and I don’t really converse with myself out of the blue. So reading aloud is a good alternative, I think.)

Anyways, to sum up this post, I WANT TO READ MORE. And even further, I WANT TO WANT TO READ MORE. (Perhaps I just haven’t been finding the right books lately, either.) So my goal is to read an average of 2 books every month for the rest of the year–that’s 12 books from today until December 31st. And, if I manage to get ahead on this “goal” during the summer months, that’s fine. But I don’t want to stop reading in the fall when my time-consuming actions of work, taking care of Baby, and getting back in shape after Baby all return, just because I “got ahead” when I had a lot of free time.

Leave a Reply

