Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares {audiobook}

TitleSisterhood Everlasting
Author: Ann Brashares
Narrator: Angela Goethals
Length: 10 hours
Published in: 2011
Genre: fiction
ISBN: 9780307912244
Source: public library
Reason for Reading: In high school, I read the first books of this series, I think I read them all. So I thought this sounded good.
Rating: 5/5

Summary (from Goodreads):

Tibby, Lena, Carmen, and Bridget have grown up, starting their lives on their own. And though the jeans they shared are long gone, the sisterhood is everlasting.

Despite having jobs and men that they love, each knows that something is missing: the closeness that once sustained them. Carmen is a successful actress in New York, engaged to be married, but misses her friends. Lena finds solace in her art, teaching in Rhode Island, but still thinks of Kostos and the road she didn’t take. Bridget lives with her longtime boyfriend, Eric, in San Francisco, and though a part of her wants to settle down, a bigger part can’t seem to shed her old restlessness.

Then Tibby reaches out to bridge the distance, sending the others plane tickets for a reunion that they all breathlessly await. And indeed, it will change their lives forever—but in ways that none of them could ever have expected.

As moving and life-changing as an encounter with long-lost best friends,Sisterhood Everlasting is a powerful story about growing up, losing your way, and finding the courage to create a new one. 

My Thoughts: I truly loved this book. This was a story for which I was happy to get in my car to go to work in the morning. There is some sadness involved and that part really bewildered me–I just couldn’t understand. At first I thought it’d end up as a sort of mean joke, but it wasn’t. And when there was a twist a little later the whole story really came together and was a nice closure, I think, to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

Leave a Reply

