The Seventh Victim by Mary Burton {audiobook}

TitleThe Seventh Victim
Author: Mary Burton
Narrator: Johanna Parker
Length: 9.5 hours
Published in: 2013
Genre: fiction, mystery
ISBN: 9781452611051
Source: public library
Reason for Reading: title spiked my curiosity
Rating: 4/5

Summary (from Goodreads):

IF AT FIRST YOU DON’T SUCCEED KILL AND KILL AGAIN…
It’s been seven years since the Seattle Strangler terrorized the city. His victims were all young, pretty, their lifeless bodies found wrapped in a home-sewn white dress. But there was one who miraculously escaped death, just before the Strangler disappeared…

Lara Church has only hazy memories of her long-ago attack. What she does have is a home in Austin, a job, and a chance at a normal life at last. Then Texas Ranger James Beck arrives on her doorstep with shattering news: The Strangler is back. And this time, he’s in Austin…


He’s always craved her, even as he killed the others. For so long he’s been waiting to unleash the beast within. And this time, he’ll prove he holds her life in his hands—right before he ends it forever…

My Thoughts: I don’t know that this would be considered a mystery. But it does have certain aspects of a good thriller. I wasn’t continually left on the edge of my seat when I got to work or home (it was an audiobook for my commute), but there were a few times I stayed in the car a few extra minutes to keep listening. I had suspected two specific men to possibly be the Strangler, but was pretty sure it was one of them more than the other. I don’t want to give anything away, but it turns out I was slightly right to suspect both of them, in their own rights. And I have to admit that I was very happy when Lara finally trusted another major character, so as to make her really vulnerable (I’m trying not to give it away, and that might make this sound very weird). That release of her distrust was really good for the story–there was tension there that needed to be realized. Oh, and the very last twist of of the story really got me! I hadn’t exactly seen it coming, but it didn’t surprise me all that much either–as it got closer and closer, I just wanted to yell at Lara that she was being really dumb! I mean, given what had happened, even if you think you’re in the clear, you can’t be too sure.

I think I’d recommend this to people who like a good thriller. It wasn’t a scary thriller, just a pretty run-of-the-mill thriller. But I liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

