Have You Seen Marie? by Sandra Cisneros {audiobook}

Title: Have You Seen Marie?
Author: Sandra Cisneros
Length: 30 minutes
Published in: 2012
Genre: fiction (short story)
ISBN: 9781611209952
Source:
public library
Reason for Reading: 
found it on the new releases shelf at the library
Rating: 2/5

Summary (from book cover):

The internationally acclaimed author of The House on Mango Street gives us a deeply moving tale of loss, grief, and healing. The word ‘orphan’ might not seem to apply to a fifty-three-year-old woman. Yet this is exactly how Sandra feels as she finds herself motherless, alone like ‘a glove left behind at the bus station.’ What just might save her is her search for someone else gone missing: Marie, the black-and-white cat of her friend, Roz, who ran off the day they arrived from Tacoma. As Sandra and Roz scour the streets of San Antonio, posting flyers and asking everywhere, ‘Have you seen Marie?’ the pursuit of this one small creature takes on unexpected urgency and meaning.

My Thoughts: I have to admit that had I realized the book was so short when I found it on the shelf, I probably wouldn’t have even bothered with it. The time listed on the back was misleading–an hour long book didn’t seem too short. But I failed to realized that that time included the reading in English and in Spanish. I could hardly even consider this a book–it is a short story. I don’t think it’s really all that possible to rate or review the story, having been so short. I admit, though, that the telling of the story was beautiful and the language was very lyrical. I feel bad because I know the story was supposed to be very moving and semi-autobiographical for Cisneros, but I just didn’t really take anything away from it.

Leave a Reply

