Sunday Salon {12/16/2012}

sunday salonThis week seems to have gone rather fast. It was my first full week of my new job and I am really beginning to feel comfortable with the kids. I’m still a little leery when it comes to the actual work part (when we actually 1:1 teach the kids) because they are all at different levels and I’m still figuring out who can do what. But I’m feeling great with everything else. I finally went Christmas shopping this weekend! I only have one more gift left to buy. I was just having such a hard time figuring out what to buy for my family members.

No real reading. I’m waiting for a book at the library to come in so I can finish the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge on a good note. But it seems like it’s never going to come in! I’ve been #1 on the list for it for a couple of weeks.

Ted (2012; Mark Wahlberg, Seth McFarlane, Mila Kunis)
Young boy wishes his teddy bear was real. Teddy bear comes to life. Whole world loves Ted, the teddy bear. Ted and boy grow up. Man can’t grow up and get his life together because of bear. Man and bear go separate ways. Tragedy ensues. Ending is happy.
Funnier than I thought, but still more stupid-stupid than stupid-funny. Doubt I’ll watch it again.

The Lucky One (2012; Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling)
Man is a soldier. Man finds a picture of a beautiful woman (which incidentally saves him from dying). Man goes in search of woman to thank her. Man and woman fall in love. Man and woman have a fight. But it’s Nicholas Sparks–you figure out the ending.
As with most Nicholas Sparks movies, I enjoyed it. The ending was cliche, as are many romantic movies. But, again, with most Nicholas Sparks movies, I probably won’t watch it often. I think, of his movies I’ve seen, I’ve only ever watched each once, at least all the way through.

Ice Age: Continental Drift (2012; Ray Romano, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Lopez)
Manny and Ellie’s daughter, Peaches, is now a teenager. The land begins to shift and change, splitting Manny, Sid, and Diego–and Sid’s awesome granny–from Ellie and Peaches. Thus begins the adventure of pirates and floating icebergs in order to reunite the family.
This was pretty funny. Of course the original Ice Age is best, but I think these follow-ups have been really great as sequels go.

The Bourne Legacy (2012; Jeremy Renner, Rachel Weisz)
I have to be perfectly honest–I’m not exactly sure what this was about. It’s not like the other Bourne movies with Matt Damon. This is more about a conspiracy dealing with medicines that enhance your mental and physical states. It was good, but a little confusing if you didn’t pay 100% attention to it, which is what happened in my case.

Leave a Reply

