Sunday Salon {12/9/2012}

sunday salonThis has been a busy week. I’ve been out to eat five times, four of which were to celebrate Nick’s birthday. I took him out for just the two of us, his parents took us both out, we went out with a group of friends last night (there are two others with birthdays around this time of the month), and again this afternoon to celebrate his grandma’s birthday (which is coincidentally his birthday). I feel like I’m about to explode! At least it wasn’t a week of fast food–I still haven’t had any of that this year.

On top of all of that, I started a new job on Wednesday. I’m a full-time paraprofessional in an elementary room with six wonderful kids that have varying disabilities–five have autism of varying degrees. I substituted in this classroom a handful of times and I told them I’d be interested in a full time spot if one came available. Great for me, they all loved me anyways so I was the first person they called when a spot opened. Anyways, the work is tough some days, easier others. But always rewarding.

I didn’t really get a chance to read anything this week. But I did finish my audiobook, Luncheon of the Boating Party by Susan Vreeland. It was a great book. I loved the narrator, Karen White, whom I’ve listened to before. And this style of story–where the backstory of a piece of artwork is created–has always intrigued me. Like Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier. For the rest of the month I am going to stop listening to audiobooks and just listen to Christmas music on the radio. We have a local station that plays continuous Christmas music all through December 🙂

Back to the Future Part II (1989; Michael Fox, Christopher Lloyd)
Another time-travelling adventure of Marty McFly and Dr. Brown.
I’ve honestly never seen this before. I thought it was pretty funny that the time Marty first travelled to was October 21, 2015. Not the particular day, just the year–2015 isn’t that far away 🙂 I did see somewhere a poster that said something about the world not ending in 2012 like the Mayan calendar prophesied because Marty McFly traveled to 2015 haha

Rock of Ages (2012; Julianne Hough, Alec Baldwin, Tom Cruise)
A pseudo-musical focusing on the 1970s and the rise of rock ‘n’ roll music.
Best thing about the movie was the music. The story was lame. That’s all there really is to say.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {12/9/2012}

  1. Woah, I don’t think I could go out that much. Good luck with your job. I taught small groups of students with learning disabilities, including students with Aspergers.
    Interesting work and kids. Special place in my heart.
    Kudos to you for taking this on.

  2. Carl V. says:

    Congrats on the new job! 🙂

    The Back to the Future movies are all fun. The first is by far the best but I enjoy them all. Haven’t seen II or III for a long time.

  3. readerbuzz says:

    Congratulations on the new job!

    My Sunday Salon

  4. Hillary says:

    Congrats on the new job!! I am sure you will love it. The work may be tough but rewarding.

  5. Nothing better than multiple meals out to celebrate something! Congrats on your new job!!!! Will there be more eating to celebrate that? HA!

  6. swright says:

    Congrats on the new job. Good for you for helping kids with disabilities.

Leave a Reply

