Blast from the Past: Frangipani

Frangipani by Celestine Vaite
January 26-February 5, 2007–294 pages-fiction (Tahiti, family, women, daily life)
Borrowed from WCDPL
★★★★★

Materena Mahi is one of the best characters I have ever read. I love the whole story here: her son, then finding out she’s pregnant with a girl as her man leaves her, then getting back with her man and having another son. I really like the simple life of the island and how Materena and Leilani have such an open relationship. I did find it add that they don’t get married until after one kid (in many cases), but they all are so free spirited. I enjoyed how many aspects of Vaite’s life were portrayed there characters. Like Materena’s French father she never knew and Rose’s Australian husband she leaves Tahiti for.

I also learned, if I’m ever in Tahiti, I should wear a frangipani/plumeria flower behind my left ear because it symbolizes I’m taken–behind the right it means I’m available and looking 🙂 (p11)

“A child is a gift for eternity.” (p11)

“It takes courage for a fruit to fall far from her tree.” (p135)

“To die with a clear conscience is the only way to leave this world.” (p161)

“Give because it makes you feel good. If you get something back, good. If you don’t, it doesn’t matter.” (p161)

“First prize is finding someone to be passionately in love with you for a lifetime.” (p162)

“Forty muscles are needed to frown, only fifteen to smile.” (p165)

“Crying is good for the soul, just as laughing is.” (p172)

“We don’t own our children’s lives.” (p244)

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

