Fifty Shades Darker & Fifty Shades Freed by EL James

Titles: Fifty Shades Darker & Fifty Shades Freed
Authors: EL James
Length: 544 & 581 pages (respectively)
Published in: 2011
Genre: erotic romance
ISBN: 9781612130583; 9781612130606
Source: 
borrowed from a friend
Reason for Reading:
I enjoyed the first one, so I had to keep going
Rating: 5/5 for both

Here is the Goodreads summary of Fifty Shades Darker.
Here is the Goodreads summary of Fifty Shades Freed.

My Thoughts: I loved all three of these books. It’s hard to believe that pretty much all three of the books took place in about 6 months. I suppose it’s possible for a whirlwind romance, but my personal experience is dating for 5 years, engaged for 2, and then marriage–a bit different, but I wouldn’t believe every relationship has to go that way.

So much happened in these two books. It is already a bit difficult to remember which big events occurred in which book. But I found them more thrilling than I had anticipated. There was less sex in these than in the very first novel, which is alright–romance doesn’t have to be about sex, even erotic romance.

There was one thing that bothered me in all of these books, especially these two. (It also bothered me in the Twilight books, to which these are strikingly similar.) It’s that weakness in Ana. She is so strong about her decisions at the onset, but then, as soon as Christian gets near her (especially in a sexual way) she gives up. I understand that you have to pick your battles–that’s something you have to do with your spouse or your children constantly. But if it’s something small, which seems to be the case more often than not, why can’t he give up at some point?! It just bugs me how someone can be strong one moment and so weak the next (and I know I do it myself sometimes).

One thought on “Fifty Shades Darker & Fifty Shades Freed by EL James

  1. I was asking myself if I should put those books on my TBR list because I heard and read many bad reviews about them… But as I read your review, I realize that it is probably because it is a bit similar to “Twilight” (which is not always acclaimed by critics).

Leave a Reply

