Sunday Salon {9/2/2012}

It’s been a busy week. Monday was my 25th birthday and my first day not working at the daycare. I’ve got a new job as a substitute teacher through a county educational service center. It’s not as steady as my daycare job, but it will get me closer to a full-time teaching job for which I’m trained and that I’m missing big time. Anyways, as I had no work because this week is sort of an off week, I went shopping for my birthday and spent the $200 gift card I had from Christmas.

Then I had my first substitute job earlier today. I was a little worried about it because it wasn’t in a conventional classroom–it was held in an apartment and it was a class to teach living skills to students with autism, Downs, and results of a traumatic brain injuries. I really loved it 🙂

(FYI: I am writing up this post Friday afternoon. Since my weekend is so busy, I’m writing it early to post automatically on Sunday. Next week’s TSS post will have my weekend stuff.) Later today is a wedding rehearsal. Tomorrow, is my own maid-of-honor’s wedding. I’m a guest book attendant and Nick is an usher. And then Sunday we have to travel 2.5 hours to my aunt and uncle’s condo-warming party 🙂

This week I finished three books! Monday, I finished listening to The Storekeeper’s Daughter by Wanda Brunstetter. I also finished listening to Left Behind by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins. I read them both for my Inspirational Resolution 2012, for which I have one final read left. (And I am currently listening to Pearl in the Sand by Tessa Afshar for this challenge–I didn’t mean to have almost every inspiration book an audio.) I also finished reading Fifty Shades Freed by EL James. I spent all of August reading inspiration or erotic romance 😕

I feel really bad because I didn’t realize I needed to read a book for Mexico for the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge until there was less than a week left of August 😦 And I’d planned a re-read, The Underdogs by Mariano Azuela. I did not read it. Hopefully I will remember and read a book set in the Philippines by a Filipino author.

I am participating in Readers Imbibing in Peril VII, hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings, for September and October. (Here’s my original post about it.) It’s a reading event to read spooky and creepy books as the autumn season comes upon us.

I’ve been watching lots of new movies. Here’s a list:

  • Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows
  • Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
  • Everything Must Go
  • The Grey
  • The Woman in Black
  • The Three Stooges

I liked all of them, especially Salmon Fishing in the Yemen and The Grey. I’ve been watching Downton Abbey on Netflix lately this week. I really enjoy it–a time I love and a look into the wealthy at a time I haven’t really been informed of in the past.

One thought on “Sunday Salon {9/2/2012}

  1. Carl V. says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope it was a wonderful one for you and that the year ahead is too.

Leave a Reply

