Left Behind by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins {audiobook}

Title: Left Behind
Authors: Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins
Narrator: Frank Muller
Length: 3 hours
Published in: 1995
Genre: inspiration
ISBN: 978084243237
Source: 
borrowed from my public library
Reason for Reading:
Inspirational Resolution 2012
Rating: 5/5

Summary (from Goodreads):

In one cataclysmic moment, millions around the globe disappear.

Vehicles, suddenly unmanned, careen out of control. People are terror stricken as loved ones vanish before their eyes.

In the middle of global chaos, airline captain Rayford Steele must search for his family, for answers, for truth. As devastating as the disappearances have been, the darkest days may lie ahead.

My Thoughts: Going into this book, I thought there would be a lot of Bible beating and preaching. What I found was nothing more than any other book I’ve read set in a post-apocalyptic world. Yes, many characters realized that the disappearance of millions around the world was God collecting his believers and the book of Revelations beginning in real life. But, with the small exception of a videotape left by a pastor to be viewed in these events, I didn’t find anything offensive or “preachy”.

I love dystopic and post-apocalyptic books. I view them as two different types of stories–but usually dystopic results from a post-apocalyptic society. (Maybe I’ll write up a post about these two types of stories so I don’t rant about it here.) The way the people just disappeared was a great idea. I’ve never read Revelations, so I don’t know if there’s anything it says about it, but I always pictured Jesus coming back to physically collect the people. Not that I really believe anything like that will happen, but that’s how I pictured it in a fictional sense. Anyways, a mass disappearance is an awesome way to create chaos in the world.

I am slightly interested in keeping on with the series because I know it will eventually reach the dystopic state. But I’m a little hesitant because I’m thinking that the further I go, the more preaching the books will become. I’m torn…

Inspirational Resolution 2012

One thought on “Left Behind by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins {audiobook}

  1. I read the first three in the series and really enjoyed them. They definitely are not preachy and are so engaging. I really should pick them back up again, it’s been about eight years!

Leave a Reply

