The Storekeeper’s Daughter by Wanda Brunstetter {audiobook}

Title: The Storekeeper’s Daughter
Author: Wanda E Brunstetter
Narrator: Christina Moore
Length: 9 hours
Published in: 2005
Genre: inspiration
ISBN: 9781428171091
Source: 
borrowed from my public library
Reason for Reading:
Inspirational Resolution 2012
Rating: 4/5

Summary (from case):

Her mother’s untimely death makes life almost unbearable for 20-year-old Naomi. While working long hours at the family’s general store, she must also cook, clean, and care for her seven younger siblings–including her newborn brother, Zach. Since her dad refuses to remarry or hire help, Naomi’s future looms like a dark cloud. Given neither time nor permission to court, she has little hope for marriage. But when the unthinkable happens to baby Zach, Naomi is devastated and wonders how God can possibly create anything good out of such sorrow and loss.

My Thoughts: This was actually really good. Strangely enough, it had a few similarities to The Shunning, which I also read for my Inspirational Resolution. They are both set in the Amish world, and they both have to do with secret adoptions–although in this book, it’s not as big a part. Religion payed a small secondary role in the story–which I liked. I wouldn’t really like a book that preached at me. I’m beginning to get interested in the Amish stories. Assuming the authors actually know what they write about to be somewhat true, I’m surprised to find that, for instance, Amish children/youth can rebel against their parents’ rules just like in the “English” world–though it’s not exactly to the same extent.

Although this inspirational resolution is confusing me a little. So far, nothing I’ve read has has a big religious aspect. I don’t know how to describe what makes a book inspirational without including something about it having something to do with religion. The books aren’t different from general fiction, really.

Leave a Reply

