Blast from the Past: Secret History of the Pink Carnation

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig
1/1/2007-1/3/2007–428 pages–fiction/mystery/adventure/chick-lit/history
Bought from Waldenbooks, December 26, 2006
★★★★★

Well, I’m still reading this and I’ll probably finish it later. But I just wanted to sort of predict who I think is the Pink Carnation. Of course, my first thought was that it’s Amy when Lord Richard finally lets her join the league. But then I thought, maybe it’s Miss Gwen. I don’t really know why I think it could be her, but she is a spinster lady and Richard keeps mentioning how spies really need to be single. Plus, I just read the part when Amy finally figured out that Richard was the Purple Gentian. Miss Gwen had known for awhile I guess, and even Jane figured it out first. But maybe Miss Gwen didn’t figure it out but rather knew it all along. I’m really not sure who the Pink Carnation is, but I’m growing more curious by the page.

I just finished the book about five minutes ago and I love it! It’s not really well written like some books I’ve read, but it was light and entertaining and God knows we all need a book like that once in awhile. I really did love the plot and everything. I was sort of right about my predictions as to who the Pink Carnation was because Amy and Miss Gwen both did start the league of the PC even if it was Jane who ended up keeping the title and pursuing the dream. I can’t believe Eloise thought the PC would be a man. I definitely thought it was a woman the whole time. It think the author should’ve written it all set back in 1803 England/France rather than have Eloise with a frumpy/unrealistic (in my mind) idea for a dissertation. It would’ve been better without those present day parts, but I still love the book. On to the sequel…

“Infatuation is not even a poor cousin of love.” (p264)

“To the male mind, female plus bedroom equals just one thing.” (p269)

“You don’t think she lived happily ever after?
That’s an ending for books, not for people.
What are books about, if not people?” (p289)

“Mother, would you stop flirting with Father for a moment and listen?
“I never stop flirting with your father. That’s why we have such a happy marriage. And I hope that all of you find spouses with home you can happily flirt for the rest of your lives.” (p318)

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

