Blast from the Past: Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
12/29/2006-1/1/2007–165 pages–sci fi (dystopic)
Required by Rory’s Book Club
Bough from Waldenbooks, December 2006
★★★★★

I really loved this book, even more than Anthem or The Giver because it seemed a little bit more realistic. Reading about dystopic environments really makes me think about where the world is headed. Especially this one because of issues surrounding censorship. I can’t decide if I would be a passionate radical like Montag or a silent thinker like Faber. I like how it gave a somewhat open ending. Because it gives you hope or doubt, whichever you want to happen with Montag, Granger, and the gang.

“That’s the good part of dying; when you’ve nothing to lose, you run any risk you want.” (p85)

“Most of us can’t rush around, talk to everyone, know all the cities of the world, we haven’t time, money or that many friends. The things you’re looking for, Montag, are the world, but the only way the average chap will ever see 99% of them is in a book.” (p86)

“Everyone must leave something behind when he dies. A child or a book or a painting or a house or a wall built or a pair of shoes made. Or a garden planted. It doesn’t matter what you do so long as you change something from the way it was before you touched it into something that’s like you after you take your hands away.” (p156-7)

“Live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories.” (p157)

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

