Running Round-Up {8/14/2012}

What were your distances/times this week?

Thursday2.51 2.90 miles in 40 minutes
Friday– 2.89 miles in 39 minutes
Sunday– 1.01 miles in 11 minutes
Tuesday– 3.81 miles in 53 minutes

What motivated you to run this week?

One of my best friends is getting married on September 1st and I bought a dress for it awhile ago when I was running regularly. So, in the short term, I’d like to look at least as good if not better as when I bought it.
Specifically while running, I was motivated to keep up with the man who passed me while running with a stroller and a sizable toddler within. Needless to say, I didn’t keep up with him, but I kept as close to him as I could.

What did you think about while running this week? Did you have any random or profound thoughts?

This week, I thought about, among other things, that I’m so glad the weather has turned around. If you can believe it, one reason I wasn’t very motivated to run at the beginning of the summer was because we were having days and nights of 90-110 degrees. But this week it was actually in the 70s!! So I’m so glad there’s more comfortable running weather.
Also, as usual, I thought about myself running alone. It’s always there, in the back of my mind–what if something happens to me while I’m out on the trail alone? The trail is pretty safe, very few incidents happen there, but I do enjoy running alone and doing that where there aren’t a bunch of people to see me worries me sometimes. However, my husband always knows when I go and I let him know when I’m done, so he doesn’t have to worry as much.

Did you reach any specific goals this week? Do you have goals for this coming week?

This is really my first week back at running after a month-long hiatus, so my goal has really been just to get back in the swing of things. But I was glad to make it back to my 3.8 mile route 🙂 I’m glad it hasn’t taken my legs too much getting used to running again. I’m still slow, but I am managing a reasonable distance for my personal running history.

What did you listen to while you ran this week?

I have a summer-y type mix on my phone. Or, at least what I consider summer-y. That means Beach Boys, B-52s, Michael Jackson, and some 1990s throwback songs.

Where did you run? New route, old route? Did you see anything special?

I ran the same route Thursday and Friday. I did that on purpose because the first day, my phone’s GPS didn’t work right, so I had to guess how long I went. Luckily, Friday it worked and I found I had underestimated how far I’d gone 🙂 Tuesday (today) I ran the route I used to help get me ready for the first (and only, so far) 5K I did. Sunday I just ran a straight mile as fast as I could. Believe it or not, 11 minutes is a good mile for me 🙂

WHAT IS YOUR RUNNING GEAR?

I have some basics. You know, a pair of tennis shoes that I try to wear only for athletic doings. A couple of sports bras–I got some new ones for running that are racerback and they are THE most comfortable pieces of clothing I have. A few shirts/tanks for exercising, because I actually don’t like running in big baggy t-shirts. And I do have a pair of shorts that I would never wear for anything else. Oh, and I have a armband for my smartphone so I can listen to my music and take my app to record my route while I run.

|

Running Round-Up is a weekly meme I write about my running for the week. I post it on Tuesdays, but if you want to do it along with me, don’t feel the need to do Tuesdays–any day is okay, just link back to my post 🙂 There are a series of questions I answer every week (feel free to omit a question if you don’t like it), but a different more interesting question at the end of each post.

Leave a Reply

