Sunday Salon {8/12/2012}

This week I started running again. It feels so good to be back out there, even if I run “slow”, it’s faster than I ever thought I’d be able to go anyways. To help hold me accountable to myself for running, I’ve started a new weekly meme, to be published on Tuesdays, that I’m calling my Running Round-Up. (Here is the first post!) You can join in with me, if you’re a runner, but otherwise I’m probably assuming more people will read and care about it than it will in reality.

I am starting to freak out a little bit. We are having a housewarming party in about two weeks and it feels like there is still SOOO much to get done to have the house guest-worthy. Yesterday, I spent 7 hours shoveling half a truckload of mulch. We will likely have more mulch by the time I get home from work tomorrow, but there are so many little things to do around the house, I’m wondering how we will get it all done! I hope it will be presentable, and I really look forward to after the party when things aren’t so imperative to finish, for a party or anything else. Our three extra bedrooms–one is our office, one will be designated a guest room and the third will just be there–are getting no real work like paint or new outlets/light switches, etc. until a child is expected to fill that room 🙂

For reading, I didn’t read anything outside of work this week–and it was a three day week for me. And two days I didn’t even read at work because 1) I was just talking to co-workers one day and 2) another day I left during the kiddos’ naptime, which is my reading time. In short, I read for only a few hours this week 😕 I read Fifty Shades Darker. I still have no audio and am getting fed up with the wait list I’m on–I think I’ll have to go get something to tide me over because I absolutely hate talk radio, especially in the morning. Haven’t read any COMC since the middle of July 😦 I need to get back with that.

I was very productive with movies this week, though. I watched The Artist (2011; Jean Dujardin, Berenice Bejo) and didn’t enjoy it all that much. It was completely silent albeit a mere moment of sound effects. I don’t know that that was what made me dislike it or if I just found it boring, which I did.  New Year’s Eve (2011; too many popular celebrities to mention) was actually pretty good. I liked all the different plots that were happening at the same time–and they weren’t all connected in some cliche way at the end! Casa de mi Padre (2012; Will Ferrell) wasn’t too great. It was supposed to look like a crappy Mexican film, and that was a little comedic. But the story wasn’t very interesting. American Reunion (2012; Alyson Hannigan, Jason Biggs) I watched last night with Nick–it was hilarious. Looking back, I can’t exactly see the appeal of the American Pie movies–I’m talking about the original three, not all the spin-offs about Stifler’s brother or band camp–but they were awesome at the time and fun to watch, nostalgically. Anyway, American Reunion was really fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

