Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane {audiobook}

Title: Shutter Island
Author: Dennis Lehane
Narrator: Tom Stechschulte
Length: 9.5 hours
Published in: 2003
Genre: mystery/psychothriller
ISBN: 9780061906282
Source: 
borrowed from library
Reason for Reading: 
I was looking for the audiobook of Left Behind at the library (for my Inspiration Resolution) which is under LaHaye and it wasn’t there. But this was nearby, so I took it out because I enjoyed the movie a couple of years ago.
Rating: 5/5

Summary (from Goodreads):

It’s 1954, and up-and-coming U.S. marshal Teddy Daniels is assigned to investigate the disappearance of a patient from Shutter Island’s Ashecliffe Hospital. He’d been gunning for an assignment on the island for reasons of his own — but before long he wonders whether he hasn’t been brought there as part of a twisted plot by hospital doctors whose radical treatments range from unethical to illegal to downright sinister. Teddy’s code-breaking skills soon provide a promising lead, but the hospital refuses him access to records he suspects would break the case wide open. As a hurricane cuts off communication with the mainland, more dangerous criminals “escape” in the confusion, and the puzzling, improbable clues proliferate, Teddy begins to doubt everything — his memory, his partner, even his own sanity.

My Thoughts: The story wasn’t all that mysterious for me since I’d seen the movie and remembered the basic plot. But that doesn’t mean it was any less creepy/thrilling to hear. I remember having a “WTF?!” moment when Dr. Cawley told Teddy he was a patient and the whole FBI search for Rachel Solando was a playact to help him recover his sanity. But I don’t remember the story ending the way it did. It ended as it began–either in reality or a playact and now I don’t know which is true! It’s boggling my mind and making me love the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

