Sunday Salon {7/22/2012}

I feel like I’ve been super busy this past week, but it doesn’t look like I’ve accomplished very much 😕 I finally decided to put myself out there professionally and signed up to be on my county educational service center’s substitute teacher list. That means that all the schools in the county, except two, might use me to sub for them. I plan to sign up for those two school districts that don’t use the ESC to provide subs and also with a neighboring county’s ESC. I need to sub at least four days a week to make what I make now at the daycare. But even if I earn a little less, I will be getting my foot in the door for all those school districts.

House-wise, I feel like I did a lot, but there’s not much to show for it. I did finish that bench made out of pallets I was telling you about.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s more of a decorative piece, or for throwing bags/coats on–but it will hold you up if you sit on it. For awhile…Nick helped me assemble it. Sure, I could’ve done that myself, but I wanted it to hold up in case someone did sit on it, which would be more likely if he put it together haha

I haven’t finished reading anything this week. I’m reading Savushun by Simin Daneshvar for the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge–Iran is the country for July. I am also listening to Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane–that was found on accident. I was looking for Left Behind by Tim LeHaye, and found this instead 🙂

I watched The Descendants (2011; George Clooney, Shailene Woodley) and really enjoyed it. It was a bit serious for my taste, but I still liked it. I also finished watching Glee Season this week. I hate to say I’m almost hooked. My friend left me with a teaser from season 3 involving a certain character being pregnant and I cannot wait for it to come out on DVD! Nick and I went to see The Dark Knight Rises (2012; Christian Bale, Joseph Gordon-Levitt) on a whim tonight. We both loved it. Of these past three Batman movies, this had the best ending–and the worst. It only sucked because I know there aren’t going to be more Batman movies (with this cast, anyways) and there were so many cliff-hangers and “Batman continues his fight towards evil” forewarnings 🙂 I’d recommend seeing it if you like the previous two movies.

One thought on “Sunday Salon {7/22/2012}

  1. I just watched The Descendants too. Our Library Book Club read it and then watched the movie. Both were good (book was better, of course) but Sid was amazing in both!! he was such a cool character.

    Our book club is reading Shutter Island for next month too!

Leave a Reply

