Sunday Salon {7/1/2012}

Last weekend I didn’t write up a Salon post because we were busy with roofing our house. We started that two weeks ago and, with lots of help from family and friends, we are done! Well, Nick still has some ridge caps (at the tops of the peaks) to put up, but that’s nothing compared to the ordeal of roofing our house by ourselves. image

There was nothing wrong, it just took a long time and much labor–my future brother-in-law and my father-in-law deserve a HUGE thanks (which they will get whether they want it or not) because they put in at least 72 hours of work, if not more. I was never allowed up on the roof, so I got to be the gopher and official shingle-cutter, which was okay. Nick had it figured that we would have spent at least $20,000 to pay someone to roof our house–I’m glad he’s such a hardworking man!

image

I think the only other semi-interesting stuff to tell you about still revolves around the house. I’m not sure about other countries, but in the 1970s and 1980s, pretty horrid shades of green and yellow were popular in bathrooms. As a result, my 1979 house has a yellow bathroom–yellow shower/tub combo, toilet, and double sinks. Rather than try to replace this yellow, I’ve decided to work with it. Above is a picture of what I’ve done so far, paint 🙂 (I’m not stupid, I know that bathrooms can be REALLY expensive to update, so I’m keeping it simple.) I have taken on this guest bathroom as my project, with minimal help from Nick. Oh, and the color scheme has become a white-grey-yellow theme–the grey I picked actually makes the yellow look brighter and more yellow.

As for books, I’m going nuts. I lost my general fiction book for a few days. Finally found it, so I’m good now, but I didn’t end up reading much because of it. I am really interested in my audiobook, The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch. I’m listening to it for my Around the World in 12 Books June read, a book set in Germany by a German author. Sadly, I didn’t actually finish it in June, but I’m pretty certain I would have if my library hadn’t taken a week to transition its online catalog and stop all ILL traffic 😦 I’m reading Darcy and Elizabeth by Linda Berdoll. It’s a sequel to the follow-up of Pride and Prejudice, Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife also by Berdoll. I called MDTaW my “sexy book” because it was pretty romantical in content. So far, Darcy and Elizabeth hasn’t been overly sexy, but that’s not exactly a sign of how good it is. It seems to be getting further and further away from P&P in nature, but that’s okay.

Tomorrow (Monday) I hope to have a half-way summary of my year so far up. That will be mostly about books, of course.

One for the Money (2011; Katherine Heigl, Jason O’Mara)
Stephanie Plum is hard up for some cash. She just lost her job and, desperately hits up her cousin, Vinny, for some work at his bail bond office. Yup, that’s right. As a last resort for quick and “easy” money, she becomes a bounty hunter–a bounty hunter that has never fired a gun or owned a pair of handcuffs. And that quick and easy money doesn’t turn.out to come so quick and easy.
I really enjoyed this movie. Katherine Heigl does a great job at portraying clueless women trying their hand at being a bad-ass (she played a similar role in Killers with Ashton Kutcher a couple years ago). The movie was funny and with hardly a serious criminal/police vibe, like lots of those movies aimed towards the male crowd. I much prefer this approach to those movies with macho men shooting automatic guns all willy nilly and always missing unless they’re the good guys. I haven’t read this series by Janet Evanovich, but just might have to 🙂
***On a complete side note, seeing this title always makes me think of a rhyme my dad used to say while he’d swing me and my sisters and let us plop in bed: one for the money, two for the show, three to get ready and four to go.

The Shunning (2011; Danielle Panabaker, Bill Oberst Jr.)
This is based on Beverly Lewis’ novel of the same name, which I read earlier this year. A young Amish girl is about to marry a bishop of the ordnung when a serious secret is revealed by her parents. She has never felt right about how she feels and how she should act, and the secret soon sets her world spiraling.
Not much to say about this one. I enjoyed the book, I thought the movie did a good job sticking to the book. Therefore, I liked the movie.

We’re Not Married! (1952; Ginger Rogers, Marilyn Monroe)
Five couples find out that they aren’t legally married as the man who married them didn’t have his certification valid until the week after they wed. The couples don’t have anything in common except for the faulty marriage, but the film shows us just before, during, and after they find out they aren’t husband and wife.
This was pretty funny. Each couple had very different lives and, therefore, very different reactions to finding out this un-/fortunate news 🙂 They just don’t make simply funny movies anymore.

People Will Talk (1951; Cary Grant, Jeanne Crain)
Dr. Praetorius falls in love with a student who is pregnant by her old boyfriend. He tells her she isn’t pregnant, that it was a false positive. But after they marry she finds she’s definitely pregnant and he lied.
Pretty funny. Just like We’re Not Married, it’s a simple comedy that’s pretty clean. I don’t mind some of the newer crude comedies, but it’s nice to go back and see some old ones.

One thought on “Sunday Salon {7/1/2012}

  1. Kelly says:

    People Will Talk is one of my favorite movies 🙂 It is so sweet and Cary makes every movie a little bit better 😉

Leave a Reply

