Blast from the Past: A Study in Scarlet

A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
11/19-27/2006–96 pages
★★★★★

A man, Jefferson Hope, seeks vengeance of 2 ex-Mormons, Enoch Drebber and Joseph Stangerson, who captured his fiancee decades before and forced her to be the 8th wife of Drebber. He chases them across the US and Europe and finally catches them in London where Dr. Watson just met Sherlock Holmes in his first (“recorded”) case. Reminded me of Count of Monte Cristo with Dantes seeking revenge on Danglars and Ferdinand for stealing Mercedes.

“No man burdens his mind with small matters unless he has some very good reason for doing so.” (p14)

“A fool can always find a bigger fool to admire him.” (p39)

“‘What you do in this world is a matter of no consequence. The question is, what can you make people believe that you have done?'” (p93)

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

