Blast from the Past: Saba–Under the Hyena’s Foot

Saba–Under the Hyena’s Foot by Jane Kurtz
11/12/2006–207 pages–fiction
Series: Girls of Many Lands (American Girls)
Borrowed from public library
★★★★

So I think that this would be for a reader a bit more advanced than just the American Girls books. But I did enjoy this for the most part. It made me feel a little pathetic reading something from the viewpoint of a 12 year old. But I liked how it wasn’t all flowery and peachy–it was more real that way. And apparently most of the history and stuff other than Saba really had happened. Although I’d probably be more interested in other books from this author.

“…fear is not fought in the stomach but simply taking one stumbling step when it was needed.” (p194)

“…strength meant that if you fell off your horse, you walked. And if you could not walk any farther, you crawled until you could stand again.” (p195)

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

