Sunday Salon {6/3/2012}

Biggest (general) news first: I participated in my first 5K running event yesterday! I’ve made the 5K distance (3.2 miles) a few times while getting reading for this “race”–it wasn’t so much a race as an ass-whooping on my part. But, then again, my intent was not to race against those 16-year-old cross country and track stars that were running–I was racing against my old best time.  And I won 🙂 I surprised myself and everyone else by running it in 35:56, that’s just under 12 minutes per mile (that’s not very common for me, especially at that distance). That beats my old best time by almost five minutes!

Jess (97) and I (94), pre-race

The best thing was hearing Nick (who waited for me to finish, as the dutiful husband) tell me that I came around the bend much earlier than he and my other running partners thought I would. I’m not promising anything, but Jess (my running buddy) and I are planning on running a half marathon (that’s 13 miles) at the end of April 2013–we figure that means we only have to add 0.25 miles per week to work up to that distance by that time. Fingers crossed we can accomplish that goal!

Secondly, Nick and I FINALLY finished laying out the laminate in the house. We laid out the biggest section of laminate before we moved in in March, but the entryway and hallway sort of got ignored until last weekend. Between last weekend and this weekend, with many hours of help from my in-laws, we are done with the floor. I’m so glad that I’ll be able to keep the floor cleaner now that we’re not walking on the dusty old plywood. We should be getting our baseboards soon, but Nick is re-roofing the house in a couple of weeks, so baseboards might have to wait…

Thirdly, I just want to mention early that tomorrow (Monday, June 4th) is Nick’s and my 9th anniversary 😀 You might be confused because we’ve only been married for a year and a half. But we were together for 7.5 years before we got married, so June 4th is still a special day to me. I think I love him more now than I did then, but in a very different way. I mean, 15-year-olds and 24-year-olds have very different loves haha

In the world of books…I actually finished a book this week! I finished Finding Manana: A Memoir of a Cuban Exodus by Mirta Ojito. I read this for the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge for the month of May, which was Cuba. I rather enjoyed the book, but more from an interested-in-history view rather than an it-was-a-good-book one. I’m still reading COMC at work during the kiddos’ naptime and I’m reading The Garden Intrigue at home, but not very often. Nick keeps bugging me to do stuff around the house instead of read 😛

No movies to speak of this week. But I have three currently out from the library, so I should have at least three little movie reviews up next Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {6/3/2012}

  1. Yay you! Your time beats all my training times and I run my first 5K next saturday. 🙂 I’m in it for the fun this time and to establish a base time. And it’s a good cause.

  2. Wow! There’s a lot to congratulate you on this week! A 5k, an anniversary, laying the floors…bravo!!!!

Leave a Reply

