Sunday Salon {5/20/2012}

All in all, I think this past week has been a pretty normal week. As far as life in general goes, I’m as busy as ever at work. Last summer I only had 3-4 kids; this summer it’s turning out that I have 7-8 (I work at a daycare, in case you didn’t know). No easy time for me this summer! I’m still “training” for my first 5K, which is in about two weeks. I hit the distance (3.2 miles) twice this past week, but I think I’m actually getting slower each time I do it 😕

I finished a children’s book, Kele’s Secret by Tololwa Mollel, this week for the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge (it was supposed to be for April 😦 I’m still reading The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig and The Sheen on the Silk by Anne Perry (audiobook). Garden Intrigue has been a little uninteresting these first 100-or-so pages. But I left off last at a part that I think is going to pick the story up quickly. The Sheen on the Silk is…interesting. It’s set during the 1270s in Constantinople, where/when I’ve never been before and I’m not really sure what I think yet. The main character is Anna, is a woman who pretends to be a eunuch, Anastasius, to find out why her brother has been accused of murder. That should be interesting, right? But it’s a bit slow-going.

Nick and I went to see The Avengers (2012; Chris Hemsworth, Robert Downey Jr.) this weekend. (It’s the first date we’ve been on since our anniversary 5 months ago haha) I LOVED IT! It was so awesome to see the super heroes team up, but I wish Thor would’ve had a bigger role (I find Chris Hemsworth very yummy). We saw this in 3D and it has been, by far, the best movie I’ve seen in 3D. Harry Potter in 3D just wasn’t all that amazing…

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {5/20/2012}

  1. You’re going well on the 5k training, from the sounds of it. I think I managed the full distance once before my first race. The race itself was far easier thanks to the adrenaline and cheering. Hope your race goes well.

  2. bookworm says:

    Just a little tip about running (from my experience): make sure you’re not over-training. That could be the reason you are getting slower, so try to have one or two days a week off to give your muscles time to recover. Good luck with the race!

    • Kristie says:

      I have decided to make sure that doesn’t happen. So for these last two weeks before the 5K I’ll only run that 3-mile distance once and walk between days of running. That way I get my muscles a bit stretched out and don’t fatigue my ankles (which get the worst). Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

