Blast from the Past: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife by Linda Berdoll (aka The Sexy Book)
8/25-9/13/2006—465 pages—fiction
Borrowed from: public library
★★★★★

“For every person in the world, there had been an act of love.” (p237)
{On second thought, that is unfortunately not true.}

So I absolutely LOVE this book. I know it really is not Jane Austen at all and really only uses the names, but I don’t care! See, the way I see it is Jane Austen couldn’t write this way for at least 2 reasons: 1) it would be way too risque for the time period and 2) be she never had sex because she never got married. I definitely liked the sex…what does that say about me?
{As I was 19 when I read this, what did that say about me?}

Funny thing: the whole time I read this book (all three weeks it took me) I pictured Colin Firth as Darcy, because he’s the only Darcy for me, and Keira Knightley as Lizzie. See, I just happened to favour one from one movie and the other from another. Weird, but in my head they looked good together.
{To this day, I still believe that Matthew Macfayden is the worst Darcy ever on film.}

Definitely gonna start Darcy and Elizabeth right now!
{I still haven’t read it!}

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

