The Shunning by Beverly Lewis {audiobook}

TitleThe Shunning
Author: Beverly Lewis
Narrator: Barbara Caruso
Length: 9 hours
ISBN: 9781419379901
Published in: 1997
Genre: fiction (inspiration)
Rating: 4/5
Challenges/Resolutions: Inspirational Resolution 2012

Summary (from audiobook case):

In a few days, Katie will marry Bishop John, a widower with five young children. She should be excited, but instead she feels trapped. Her thoughts in turmoil, she heads to the attic to be alone. As she explores a dusty trunk, she discovers a satin infant gown, much too fancy for an Amish baby. From that moment, Katie is determined to learn the truth behind the garment, even if it destroys the only life she has known.

My Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this book! I didn’t really think that it was going to be as intriguing as it was. Obviously, I knew that it was only a matter of time until Katie figured out the secret to the baby gown. But I didn’t imagine that the story would go the way it went once that was figured out. Especially at the very end of the story, there was a crazy twist that makes me actually want to read the next Heritage of Lancaster County book, The Confession.

It was interesting to get a (fictional) look into the Amish community. I don’t know much about the Amish, aside from rumspringa–and I’m not even too sure what goes on then, anyways. (The general gist is that, as teenagers, the Amish are allowed to experience the English/fancy way of life, living as many of us do, before they make the final commitment to the Amish community.) And I know that this is hardly a realistic look into the Amish life. But still.

As far as this being an “inspirational” book by my local library, I found that inspirational doesn’t mean religious like I’ve previously thought. (I still need to post my review of Love Comes Softly, which gave me the same awakening.) Obviously religion plays a part in a story set around an Amish community. But Katie actually challenged her ordnung, not that that is actually challenging religion.

My Thoughts on Audiobook Format: Nothing special about this as an audiobook. Caruso wasn’t anything special, as far as a narrator goes. And there didn’t seem to be anything that was made better by the book being in audio format.

Leave a Reply

