Sunday Salon {4/8/2012}

It’s been over a month since I wrote up a Sunday Salon post and I’m glad to finally have some time to do it again!

Nick and I have been living at our newly-purchased house for a couple of weeks now. That’s why I hardly wrote anything at all for this blog during March–the house needed some work before we could move in. Mainly there was a lot of painting to do, walls and ceilings. Then we had to take up the crappy laminate the previous owner had down, take up the original 1979 linoleum that had been under that laminate, and we also took up a layer of plywood–so we were down to the lowest sub-flooring, in order to put in our own, better quality laminate hardwood. The reason that all took so long was because we were working a couple hours a night during the week, then went back to the apartment. Weekends were when we got a lot of it done. And I’m really grateful for my in-laws because they took a lot of their own time to help us. But, now we are in and the house still won’t be finished for a few months–it’s easier to work on it while living in it, especially because we have smaller projects left to do now. (Oh, I should also mention that my 3-year-old nephew now loves visiting because he gets to help us do work–he loves to pick up sticks in our yard!)

As you might have noticed, I haven’t had a lot of time lately to read. I did finish a book–Timeless–and an audiobook–The Color Purple–in March, but that’s because I stopped reading COMC at work and read it instead 😕 I also am getting in less audiobook time because the move cut my commute in half. But I am currently reading A Million Suns by Beth Revis, her sequel to Across the Universe that I LOVED last year; I’m also still trudging through COMC–currently 500ish pages through the 1400-page mammoth. And I’m listening to The Shunning by Beverly Lewis on audio–this is the second book for my Inspirational Resolution, and I’m glad to be finding out that not all “inspirational” books (or so categorized by my library) are religious in nature.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {4/8/2012}

  1. aartichapati says:

    I am going to start a job in a few months that will give me a LONG commute time. I am dreading it because I hate traffic, but at least it will give me some reading time! Do you use audible for audiobooks? Do you get them from the library?

    • Kristie says:

      Yes, I get my audiobooks from the library. They are just the CD audios. I always have the next CD out of the case and at the ready for when the current one ends. Much safer while driving! 🙂

  2. Ah, your thoughts about refurbishing a house as you move into it takes me back…it was 1977 and we had bought a real fixer-upper in a neighborhood we came to love. Our new neighbors pitched in and helped with some of the work. We also had to pull up floors and replace them; do lots of painting, etc.

    Enjoy your new home.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • Kristie says:

      Our house was built in 1979, so we had some *very nice* laminate 🙂 I hope to put up some new pictures, at least of the progress we’ve made so far, even if not done.

  3. readerbuzz says:

    Sometimes (sadly) we must focus on other things than reading. ;->

    What a fun project. Enjoy.

    Here’s my
    Sunday Salon: A Slow-Book Manifesto.
    Hope you will stop by!

  4. A new house, what fun! We have been in our house about 7 years and we still have things to do 🙂

    Enjoy your new home!!!

  5. Ivana says:

    Sometimes I wish I had my own place to decorate the way I want, but I imagine it was stressful and lots of hard work. The little helpers are the best 🙂

    Happy Easter and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

