Sunday Salon {2/26/2012}

Well, this past week was pretty normal…but the weekend was very busy. Nick and I spent twelve hours at our house on Saturday and about eight hours today. It’s a little disheartening because it seems that even though we’ve worked so long this weekend, the one room we’ve been focusing on most doesn’t look like it’s changed at all. But I know that that is just how it works when such big projects are in the works, so I’ll try to not let it get me down.

BOOKS

Well, I’m pretty much done reading Of Blood and Fire by Jahanara Imam. I’m reading it for the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge, because February is Bangladesh. This is a diary of Bangladesh’s war for independence in 1971 (they were seeking independence from Pakistan, as they were “East Pakistan” just prior to their revolution. But I have to be honest–I’m not going to finish the book. I’ll still consider it to count for the challenge because I’ve gotten a good look at the country and time, but I don’t have time or the interest to continue it.

On another hand, I’m thoroughly enjoying my long awaited reread of The Count of Monte Cristo 🙂

I finally finished reading a book this week! And it was an audiobook 😕 Nevertheless, Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella was a very good read. I will post a review of this ASAP, but as a little teaser…The main character, Lexie, gets amnesia from a car accident and looses her memory for the past three years. The last thing she remember is a somewhat crappy life, but she was fairly happy. Waking up with what most would consider the dream life, she’s unhappy and has to figure out where she went wrong. And, for those who might be a little leery, I didn’t find too many cliches in the story.

FILM

Arsenic and Old Lace (1944; Cary Grant, Priscilla Lane)
This is an old comedy. So old, in fact, that I think maybe they tried too hard to make a comedy. There was a lot of irony in the story, but it was just a little too much for my taste. I didn’t think very highly of it, but it was good to see Cary Grant in such a funny role. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him portray such a silly character.

One thought on “Sunday Salon {2/26/2012}

  1. Amy Brandon says:

    I wish I had time to read The Count of Monte Cristo, as I loved the movie. I liked Arsenic and Old Lace, but I agree it was a little silly and over the top at times.

Leave a Reply

