Just Being Audrey by Margaret Cardillo, Julia Denos

TitleJust Being Audrey
Author: Margaret Cardillo
Illustrator: Julia Denos
Genre: children’s non-fiction (biography)
ISBN: 9780061852831
Length: 28 pages
Published: 2011
Source: public library
Rating: 5/5
Challenges/Resolutions: none

Summary: I think the best summary is a trailer for the book that I found on YouTube.

My Thoughts: You may already know that I love Audrey Hepburn. I can’t really remember where I came across this children’s biography, I know it was somewhere on the internet, possibly Pinterest. Regardless, I’ve read lots of biographies about Audrey, but never anything addressed to an audience of children.

Truth be told, I wasn’t very thrilled about the content. It was hard to place a specific reading age to the book. It seemed too general for an older elementary age, where one might do a little research to write a paper on Audrey. But it had some words that were too complex for younger elementary age. What saved the book, in my opinion, were the illustrations. There are so many photos of Audrey floating around now because she’s become a big icon to today’s young woman–I’m proud to say that I’ve been inspired by her for 15 years, not just the past few 🙂 Anyways…I do get bored seeing the same images of Audrey over and OVER again. These illustrations were simply amazing–you can see them in the trailer. Denos didn’t just copy the same exact image, but took popular outfits of Audrey and posed them slightly different, to make brand new pictures. One weird thing about the illustrations were Audrey’s eyes. She was famous for her big, brown, doe eyes. Yet, in the book 15 of 25 pictures of Audrey were drawn with her eyes closed. But, I guess, I’d rather have lots of lovely pictures with her eyes closed than to have poorly-drawn doe eyes in every picture.

Leave a Reply

