multiple books {thoughts on books and reading}

Yesterday I realized something that shocked me: I am reading four books at a time. For a girl who would have said a year or so ago that I couldn’t read more than a book at a time, this is pretty strange. I think I figured out the way to read multiple books at one time–read books that are completely different at the same time. For instance, right now I am reading The Count of Monte Cristo, set in Napoleonic France; The Lake of Dreams, set in current day eastern New York; Tsotsi, set in present South Africa; and Love Comes Softly, set in the 19th century American frontier. If any of these books were remotely similar in any way, it would be harder to distinguish between them. Plus, I think it helps that there are designated times and places to read each of these books: I read CoMC at work during the kids’ naptime; The Lake of Dreams is an audiobook, so I read that in the car while I commute; Tsotsi is the book I keep at home; and Love Comes Softly is the book I keep in my car, to read before spin class on Mondays and/or Wednesdays, depending on my friend’s schedule (I have 2 hours between work and spin haha).

Now, the question is, “Do I actually like reading multiple books at the same time?” As far as I can tell, I suppose I do like reading like that. I think if I hadn’t so many situations where it’s easier to keep a book somewhere and read while I’m there, I would be reading fewer books. I am fairly certain I haven’t read more than three books at a time before this. I slowly started to read more and more books at the same time, therefore I think I’ve just slowly acclimatized to keeping multiple stories in my head.

3 thoughts on “multiple books {thoughts on books and reading}

  1. TBM says:

    I also have several books going at the same time. Those books do all sound very different.

  2. Jillian ♣ says:

    Right now I’m reading:

    War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy
    Middlemarch by George Eliot
    Moby-Dick by Herman Melville
    Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
    Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
    Shakespeare by Bill Bryson
    Shakespeare: A Guide to the Complete Works by Michael J. Cummings
    The Complete Essays by Michel de Montaigne
    Gone With the Wind: A Besteller’s Odyssey by Ellen F. Brown
    The Original Illustrated Mark Twain
    The Archaeological Study Bible

    I can’t seem to read one at a time; it makes me feel restless.

    I’m curious about checking out those Love Comes Softly books. I keep wanting to read one but haven’t made time yet.

    Enjoy multiple reading! It’s the only way to go! 🙂 (In all honestly, I wish I could be more focused…)

  3. Jillian ♣ says:

    (I just posted a comment and it disappeared; not sure if it went through) –

    I’m reading eleven books right now. I wish I could be more focused, but I feel restless reading only one at a time.

    Enjoy your multi-reading! I’m curious about the Love Comes Softly series. I might need to head for the library on that one, pretty soon…

Leave a Reply

