Blast from the Past: Opal Mehta

{This is actually titled How Opal Mehta Got Kissed, Got Wild, and Got a Life.}

“Remember when life’s path is steep to keep your mind even.” (p121-2)

“And you think success is all that matters, Opal?” (p136)

“Love is the essence of life.” (p167)

This book reminded me of an odd combination of “The Princess Diaries” and “Mean Girls”. It was so close in some aspects I hope the author doesn’t get sued. But I enjoyed it because I like the storyline and Opal just seemed like a normal kid (kinda) with freakishly psychotic parents. Some things were obvious like she’d be found out. Even that Opal (and Natalie) solved the proof because otherwise there’s almost no point for mentioning it. Pretty okay book.

***Note for Opal Mehta
Kaavya Viswanathan is facing around 6 charges of plagiarism for her book. One of the works she’s been charged with copying was Princess Diaries, like I mentioned. She will probably be sued and her 2 book deal is being cancelled.
—May 8, 2006

{Interestingly enough, Viswanathan did get sued for plagiarism, but not of either books/films I mentioned above. She was sued by Megan McCafferty, author of Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings, for plagiarism. Here’s a link to an article in the Harvard Crimson about the whole deal. (Viswanathan was a ’08 undergrad of Harvard.) Thought it was very funny at the time, and even now.}

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

