Sunday Salon {1/8/2012}

The new year has been pretty good to me so far. Nick and I celebrated NYE with a few friends, nothing really big. But Nick left Monday to work on a job in Pittsburgh. Fortunately he is home this weekend, but my week has been sort of weird because he was gone. For the most part, I went to work, came home, ate dinner, watched a little TV, worked out, showered, read some, and went to bed. Pretty boring, right? But I’ve liked it anyway. In a way I’m glad he’s gone at the start of the new year so I can really get a routine of working out down so that when he comes home, I won’t be all thrown off.

In his absence, however, I did discover Pinterest 🙂 I have not spent too much time on it–pretty much just a little time at work while the kiddos are napping. But I really do love it–there are some great ideas on there! And it’s a fun way to show your interests to friends.

Oh, and a random fact for all those HIMYM fans out there: Robin Sparkles’ “Let’s Go to the Mall” song is on the video game Just Dance 3!! Made my day when I discovered that fact this week 😀

BOOKS

One goal I have for 2012 is to re-read The Count of Monte Cristo and I have a great way to get that done. Working at a daycare, I typically have around two hours of free time in the afternoon. I don’t often have much to prepare during naptime because I do it the day/night before. So I just keep COMC at work and read it in my spare time. I finished what I consider the first “section” of it at work Friday and there will be a post about that section up tomorrow.

Ivy and Intrigue is pretty good so far. It’s a novella that takes place between a few novels in the Pink Carnation series. It’s supposedly right after the first book, but because of character marriages, I can tell it takes place after the second book (there’s pretty much a marriage that ends every book of the series). It’s very short, so I don’t see why I won’t finish it this weekend.

I’m listening to Lake of Dreams on audiobook. I believe I’m about a third of the way through. It’s good, but I can already tell that there will be a major relationship change for Lucy, the main character, by the end of the story.

FILM

I haven’t watched any new-to-me movies this week 😦 My days seem so much shorter with working out, but I know that’s not really true. Just haven’t been in the new movie watching mood, I guess!

One thought on “Sunday Salon {1/8/2012}

  1. I read Lake of Dreams on my Kindle…I liked it!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

