2012 Challenges & Resolutions

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

That being said, here are my 2012 resolutions and challenges for my reading world:

Copyright 2012 Resolution

Simple enough–read at least FIVE books published in 2012. I know in 2011, I managed to read many, many more books than the five I originally resolved to read. But you never know what is going to come up and I did have a lot of “down” time in 2011 to read. So I don’t want to resolve to read so many books I end up over-extending myself or feeling a failure. I’ll do what I did in 2011: I’ll read as many books published in 2012 as seem interesting to me. I’ll never read a book that doesn’t sound good to me just to complete a resolution (or challenge).

Personal Collection Resolution

I resolve to read at least TEN books that I have in my personal collection. But I want to be more specific this year. I want to read ten books that I have owned since 2011 or before. Last year I counted books that I bought throughout the year as from my personal collection. But I think that sort of defeats the purpose of a resolution to read books I have owned for many years. (Just as with last year, I am allowed to count these books for other resolutions.)

Years of Books Resolution

I resolve to read at least FIVE books in 2012 that count towards my long-term reading goal of reading a book published in each year starting in 1800 (my Years of Books Goal).

Inspirational Resolution

While my taste in books is what I’d call eclectic, there are some genres that I just completely steer clear of. I don’t think it’s because I find them less-deserving, but rather that books which are so strongly one genre instead of just general fiction (which can have a little of everything, I think) are books I wouldn’t like. So I think I need to branch out and read some “genre” books. If nothing else, this will allow me to say that I have tried them and do/don’t like them. The one I stay away from most is the inspiration genre. I associate it with religious (and, in my library, probably Christian) books. As I don’t like such strong religious aspects in stories normally, that’s probably why I don’t read a book that I think is only about that. But, I suppose “inspirational” doesn’t mean “religious” technically. Anyways, I’m going to try to read FIVE books from the inspiration section (preferably not a series).

Around the World in 12 Books Challenge 2012

In 2011, I had a resolution to read books from around the world. I called it my Travel the Globe Resolution, and Shannon at Giraffe Days participated with me. This year, Shannon is hosting a challenge which is a spinoff of our resolution: the Around the World in 12 Books Challenge. Essentially, reading a book every month that takes us around the world, making TWELVE books. Here are some rules:

1. Books must be set in the country. (For help, try this website.)
2. Books should be by an author of that country, if you can find/get hold of one.
3. Books must be fiction or memoir. Children’s books count too.
4. Books can count towards other challenges.
When you review your book, I hope you’ll consider addressing some of these questions (they might help in deciding what book to read too):

What did you learn about the country’s culture, history etc. from reading this book? Any new insights, any shifts in your perception, or did it align with what you knew/understood already?

How did land, geography, flora and fauna feature in the book? Did it have a distinct feel that helped you visualise and made you feel like you were there, or was the story more focused on plot?

Did the story make you want to visit/revisit the country, or explore it in a new way if you live there already; did it make you want to read more stories set in the country?

January – South Africa
February – Bangladesh
March – Guatemala
April – Tanzania
May – Cuba
June – Germany
July – Iran
August – Mexico
September – Philippines
October – Denmark
November – Peru
December – Iceland

Readers Imbibing in Peril VII

A challenge to read books of a spooky nature, running from September 1st to October 31st. Hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings.
I will sign up for Peril the First, in which I must read FOUR spooky books.

General Books I’d FINALLY Like to Read

There are just a lot of books that I have that I’d like to read. I hoped that 2011′s Personal Collection Resolution would get me to read some of them, but it didn’t really work out that way. So here are some books–that I either own or don’t–that I’d like to FINALLY read (in no particular order).

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
    I’ve owned this book for at least 7 years and have yet to read it. I tried to read it once, but I got confused really early on. Now that I know the premise, from a film version, I think it might be easier.
  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
    This is my ultimate favorite book ever. And I have only read it once. I think it’s time to re-read it.
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by JRR Tolkien
    I finally got through The Hobbit, which only took me four tries. But I know the story from the three LOTR movies and I think I’d be much more interested in these stories than The Hobbit.
One thought on “2012 Challenges & Resolutions

  1. Jillian ♣ says:

    I read half of Anna Karenina in 2011. I’m reading the second half in 2012. It’s really good! Once you get into the story, it gets easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

