Sunday Salon {11/27/2011}

imageIt has been a pretty nice week. Thanks to Thanksgiving (pun intended), I only had three days of work. And that last day of work was a piece of cake, with only two kids for me to take care of. I am enjoying my relaxing 4-day weekend. Nick and I headed south to my grandparents’ house Thursday morning for Thanksgiving lunch with my extended family. Got to see my cousin and his wife, who I haven’t seen for a year because he’s been overseas with the army. We had a great time: my cousins climbed the trees at the house, something we haven’t done for a long time; and we decorated Christmas cookies, a Thanksgiving tradition. Friday night, we had dinner with my in-laws–someone had to help them eat their leftovers.

image
Speaking of Thanksgiving, I decided awhile ago that I would no longer celebrate Thanksgiving for the pilgrim and Native American story.

image

So I conveniently just celebrated it as a time to spend with family and friends. Oddly enough, this year I actually researched what my neighbors to the north celebrate for their Canadian Thanksgiving and found it even more appropriate. Aside from the time with friends and family, Canadian Thanksgiving copied the idea to celebrate a good harvest from the Native Americans celebrations. This makes sense for me especially because I married into a large farming family and most of my friends are from farming families. I now celebrate Thanksgiving on the day in the US, but with the underlying ideas of Canada.

On another note, I am 3rd of 8 in my fantasy football league, before todays games. I am the only girl and I think I’m doing a great job showing those boys what a girl can do. As far as college football goes, yesterday was the Ohio State vs. Michigan game (very big rivals). My husband and pretty much all but a few of my friends and family are Ohio State fans. As usual, I was pretty neutral. I don’t care one way or the other, but I tend to root for the underdogs. In this case, Michigan hadn’t won this matchup for the last seven years, so I rooted for them. And they won, 40-34!!

Books

Unfortunately, I did not complete any books this week. I’m finding The Annotated Sense and Sensibility very interesting. Of course, half of the annotations are for what particular words mean, which I already know from the context and having read so much Austen. But the annotations creating the world of the story are helpful. I started The Last Flight of the Scarlet Macaw this weekend. It’s nonfiction, not something I tend to read a lot of. But I am enjoying the descriptions of Belize and its animals and people immensely. As I said the last couple weeks, I’m LOVING Clara and Mr. Tiffany.

Film

How I Met Your Mother, Season 5
Nick and I finally finished watching this season. As usual, we loved it. I’m very excited to get Season 6 from the library next week.

Water for Elephants (2011; Reese Witherspoon, Robert Pattinson)
Loved the circus. Loved the time. Loved the elephant. Very surprised at the ending. This one has made my Christmas list. And the Kindle edition of this book has made it higher on my TBR list. PS- Found it amusing that Robert Pattinson played a guy named Jacob, when he is best known as an enemy of a Jacob (in the Twilight films).

As for Glee, I’m about half-way through the first season. Two of my sisters LOVE the show, so I thought I’d give it a try. I’m honestly not sure what I think yet. Rachel annoys me, Puck is a dick and Terri’s a bitch. I like the parts when they sing, but I find a 40-minute episode hard to watch–maybe they should just make it shorter haha I think I’ll at least try to finish this first season.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {11/27/2011}

  1. I do want to see Water for Elephants…and it sounds like you had a good week, even without finishing any books.

    Here’s
    MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. Laura Cline says:

    I love How I Met Your Mother. I had a phase where I wasn’t that into sitcoms, but now I am really getting back into them. I’ve always thought about Thanksgiving as a real family holiday. Plus, I love the food.

  3. Gnoe says:

    Your interpretation of Thanksgiving sounds great! We don’t celebrate this holiday in Netherlands.
    I still can’t decide whether to read Water for Elephants (it’s on my shelf) or watch the movie! I may read the book as part of next year’s What’s in a name challenge.. My Sunday Salon is all about challenges!

Leave a Reply

