Blast from the Past: Prep

Winter/Spring 2006
“Literature is an ax for the frozen sea within us.” ~Franz Kafka (p118)

“I think adults forget just how much faith teenagers can have in them, just how willing to believe that adults, by virtue of being adults, know absolute truths, or that absolute truths are even knowable.” (p299)

“…don’t remember it like this. Just because it’s the end…the end isn’t the same as the most important.” (p394)

“In equal measures, this sounds suffocating to me–high school sweethearts and all that–and I envy it; I think it must be nice to end up with someone who knows what you were like when you were a teenager. (p399)

{This last quote is funny. At the time I read this, I’d been dating Nick for 2 years. Looking back, I think it’s ironic because I love that I knew Nick as a teenager. 8 years later, here we are, married.

Also with these quotes is a list of character names, because they were a bit crazy. Not that you have to be “preppy” to have a name like: Aspeth, Tullis, Darden, Annice, or Driscoll. Although, seeing this list now, some of the names don’t seem so odd. A sign of the times. I’ll stick with classic names that no one seems to use anymore when I have kids (like Elizabeth or something).}

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

One thought on “Blast from the Past: Prep

  1. I loved Prep! Such a great book.

Leave a Reply

