Dusty Ole Books {Top Ten Tuesday}

I am notorious for buying books and letting them spend an eternity sitting on my shelf. I certainly own more unread books than read books. I even tried to remedy it in a way by resolving to read at least ten of my own books in 2011–but that sort of fell through, as I counted books that I bought and then read in 2011, too. So I plan on reading more of my own collection next year AND I’m going to try to read a book of my own for every book I buy (as in, before I buy another).

Getting back to the point, the topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is this: Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf For The Longest But I’ve Never Read. Lucky for me, I’ve been keeping track for a long time of when I bought books, so all of the books I have listed below were bought in or before the year 2007, so they’ve been sitting on my shelves for at least four years. So here are some of the books I’ve had longest and not read:

1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
2. Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
3. Darcy and Elizabeth by Linda Berdoll
4. Digging to America by Anne Tyler
5. In My Hands: Memoirs of a Holocaust Rescuer by Irene Gut Opdyke
6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
7. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
8. The Motorcycle Diaries by Ernest “Che” Guevara
9. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
10. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien 

The list isn’t very representative of genres. I have considerably more classics than anything else still sitting on my shelves. That is because when I started buying my own books, in 2006, I was in a classics phase and because they were (and are) the cheapest books, and I had very little money.

One thought on “Dusty Ole Books {Top Ten Tuesday}

  1. I had Anna Karenina for years before I finally got around to it, but I’m glad I finally read it! I wish I’d had a better edition though.

    I’ve read Slaughterhouse-Five, liked bits of it but wasn’t terribly impressed overall. The whole “so it goes” thing really grated on me.

    I haven’t read any of the others on your list. I’m too intimidated to try Les Miserables and Love in the Time of Cholera. I have lots of unread classics too!

    Here’s my list.

Leave a Reply

