Sunday Salon {11/13/2011}

I am very proud of myself. Last weekend I made the decision to start working out again. I used to do it all the time when I was unemployed and had graduated from university–sometimes I even did it twice a day. But since I got a job, about 7 months ago, I haven’t done it very regularly. And recently, Nick and I have been eating a lot of fast food. Needless to say, I put on a few. But this week, I worked out six of seven days! And I’ve been eating less junk to boot. My work out of choice: Zumba–I love the Latin music and dancing.

I am certainly enjoying my new smartphone I got last weekend. I actually don’t use it for much more than what I used my old phone for: texting. Since I haven’t used it for much of what a smartphone is for, I’m happy that the charge is lasting about 4 days at a time! So happy about that…The phone will definitely help with digitalizing my bookshelf. I can scan the barcodes 🙂 Should be a lot quicker than any other way.

Books

I finished The Marquise of O– and The Victorian Chaise Longue this week. I found neither to be anything special. I also finished listening to The Night Circus on audiobook–this one was amazing. (I love Jim Dale!!)

Film

North by Northwest (1959; Cary Grant, Eva Marie Saint, directed by Alfred Hitchcock)
I really enjoyed this thriller. It’s a little strange to see thrillers circa 1960 when used to thrillers circa 2010. There is such a huge discrepancy in technology between the two. But I think that means there is often more ingenuity in the older films. Got to think more on your feet. But, at the same time, it’d also be easier before all that technology because it’s almost impossible to go on the run from the law with so many cameras and cell phone tracing and whatnot. I like the “slower-paced” thrillers–but I gotta say, I like Charade more than this one.

On a side note, I really love that Eva Marie Saint is in this movie. She attended my alma mater, BGSU 🙂

Rio (2011; Anne Hathaway, Jesse Eisenberg)
I was a bit apprehensive about the beginning–I found it was a little similar to Up! in that it was pretty depressing/sad at the beginning. But I ended up liking Up! and I did with this one, too. It made me want to dance–I loved the little songs that popped up, maybe even more so because there weren’t so many as old Disney movies had.

One thought on “Sunday Salon {11/13/2011}

  1. Really like the way you list what you are currently working on! Nice.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: Reading 264 Books. I hope you will stop by and sign up for my November Giveaway, too. It’s a $25 Amazon gift card!

Leave a Reply

