The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern {audiobook}

TitleThe Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Narrator: Jim Dale
Genre: fiction
ISBN: 9780307938923
Length: 13.75 hours
Published: 2011
Source: public library
Rating: 5/5

Reason for Reading: I think I heard about this book when I was looking for books to be released this year. But it was Michelle’s want to reread the audiobook, read by Jim Dale, immediately after finishing it that made me choose this particular format. I loved Jim Dale’s narration of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows that I listened to last year, again, on Michelle’s recommendation.

Summary (from Goodreads):

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

My Thoughts: I find it very difficult to put my thoughts into words concerning this book. I loved the whole premise of the story–two people who are destined to fight each other, only one to survive, fall in love. In a way, that particular aspect reminded me of the Hunger Games–even though Katniss didn’t actually really love anyone she fought in this way. Nevertheless, the setting of Le Cirque de Reves was just perfect. What person doesn’t like a story about the circus? (I admit, however, that I have never been to the circus.) But the circus is truly magical, thanks to the real illusionists Marco and Celia. The only part of the book I didn’t particularly enjoy was the ending. After Celia has learned how the game can end and they can be together, the story gets a little fuzzy to me. All of the sudden, other characters that seemed minor up until that point are the ones with the main focus of the story–so I don’t think the ending fit well or flowed with the rest of the book. But the fantastic and magical feel of the story up until then is more than enough make me want to reread it. Maybe I’d understand the ending more upon a second reading. I think I might ask for this one for Christmas. And I can reread it in book format!!

Leave a Reply

