Sunday Salon {10/30/2011}

Happy (early) Halloween!!

Biggest news of the week–not that I’m saying it’s big, just the biggest of a normal week–is that Nick (that’s my husband) has come down with carpal tunnel in his left pointer finger. He says it’s like that prickly feeling when a limb is “asleep” and it just won’t go away. Luckily for him, he’s right handed so it’s not a huge deal. I’m just hoping, for his sanity, that it clears up soon. He says it’s rather annoying and sometimes even painful.

In another aspect of my life, I have felt like I’m back in high school this week. My brother-in-law and one of my best friends decided to try dating a few weeks ago since they’ve had mixed feelings for each other for the past six years. But my immature 20-year-old brother-in-law decided after spending 9 hours over three weeks (they attend different universities) with my friend to end it. I hate being “in the middle” of break-ups. Only a couple of months ago Nick’s and my best friends broke up in a very messy break-up and we were in the middle because both were telling us different things. Needless to say, I’m glad that I’m married. But we really do need some couple friends.

Books Read

Firstly, in general reading-life news, I feel like I’ve been in a huge audiobook slump lately. After deciding that The Polished Hoe by Austin Clarke wasn’t worth putting in any more time–and after restarting the book thrice–I returned it to the library. But even now, when I’ve been listening to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern for a whole week, I felt again that I needed to restart it. I did so Friday morning on my way to work and all was good–I remembered everything I “re-read”. I think I felt I had missed something when I started to realize that the story went back and forth a little, from the 1880s to the 1900s and I overthunk some stuff. Regardless, I’m hoping to not have to go back yet again. Especially because I love the story, of what I remember. Not that I wouldn’t mind going back and listening to Jim Dale some more!

Reading My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business has already paid off. The biggest city I live near is Toledo, Ohio. And I learned early in Van Dyke’s memoir that he actually trained for the Air Force in Toledo. I love learning things like that! Oh, and here’s my review for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, which was awesome as usual.

Film Watched

I feel I’ve had a pretty good week in this respect. Of course, How I Met Your Mother is amazing. I’m glad that Nick and I decided to watch the previous seasons and actually start watching the new ones as they come on TV. (Note: I haven’t actually watched Bridesmaids yet. Nick and I are having a movie night later, so we’ll watch it then. I’ll try to remember to mention my review next week.)

None But the Lonely Heart (1944; Cary Grant, Ethel Barrymore)
I wasn’t a big fan of this one. I love a couple of Cary Grant’s newer movies, Charade and An Affair to Remember. I also loved His Girl Friday, which came out four years before this one. At the beginning of the film, Grant tried on a Cockney accent, but gave up very quickly and went on with his very American accent. (This is especially funny because he was actually born in Britain.) Then again, all the major characters had American accents. But, I suppose I’d prefer that to the films that use British accents for any foreign role.

Bringing Up Baby (1938; Cary Grant, Katherine Hepburn)
This was a pretty hilarious movie. Hepburn plays the most scatter-brained woman I’ve ever seen. She is constantly moving and talking and doesn’t know what she’s talking about pretty much 95% of the time. Because she won’t admit that anything she says is wrong, she talks and tricks people into things, like the poor professor Grant portrays. I love these classic Hollywood comedies!

Zookeeper (2011; Kevin James)
This was actually pretty good. I had thought it was going to end up being a rip-off of Night at the Museum. But it was actually pretty different. And funny, too.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon {10/30/2011}

  1. I like your graphics. Certainly makes it easier to know where one is in one’s reading!

  2. I do want to read The Night Circus…hope you’re enjoying it.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

