Sunday Salon {10/23/2011}

Well, this week has been sort of long. There hasn’t been much going on, exactly. I think our rainy weather was just depressing me, making my days feel longer than necessary.  Now, the past 24 hours have been EXHAUSTING! Nick and I traversed to Indianapolis last night for a ceremony this morning at the National FFA Convention. So, after 7 hours of sleep (which is really only an hour less than normal), we watched my brother-in-law get his American Degree. (Here’s a picture of him with his proud parents haha)

In the world of books, it’s been a fairly normal week. The only thing out of the ordinary is that I stopped listening to an audiobook–I rarely stop reading a book before I finish it.

A Swift Pure Cry by Siobhan Dowd – finished
I read this book pretty much in two sittings–the ride to and from Indy. (This is where I praise Dramamine again, as it allows me to read in a car without getting motion sickness. Yay!) I really enjoyed the whole gossip-in-the-small-town, which spread like wildfire. I read this book for my Travel the Globe Resolution, as my Ireland-read. And, one thing I hate to say, is that many old stereotypes (American stereotypes, at least) of Irish are fulfilled in this story. My review will be posted on Thursday, October 27th.

The Polished Hoe by Austin Clarke – gave up
After listening to almost 9 discs (of 16), I have finally decided to give this one up. As I mentioned last week, I had to re-listen to a lot of the beginning, starting from the beginning at least three times. And it dawned on me that I just didn’t really like the story. It flips from the present to memories and between characters in a way that I really just couldn’t keep track of. Plus, I got another audiobook that I was very anxious to try and knew I would like. That being…

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – started
Started this Friday on my way to work. I’ve listened to almost the whole first disc and am LOVING it! Oh, and I love Jim Dale.

My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business by Dick Van Dyke – started
Haven’t gotten far enough into this to really pass judgement on it yet. Reading it for my Memoir/Biography Resolution.

Neverwhere (BBC, 1996)
I decided to watch this because I really enjoyed Neil Gaiman’s novel on which this BBC miniseries was based. And, as far as doing very nice book-to-film adaptations, the BBC is really great. I’m not sure what is different between American TV and British TV, but there is something different about the way the British stuff looks to me. Maybe there is some different type of lens or film used, but–and I hate to admit it–the stuff from the BBC always looks of lesser quality to me 😦 Has anyone else noticed this difference? (It doesn’t matter what are your feelings towards either quality, just a yes or no answer.) Anyways, I really did like this 3-hour miniseries. I’d definitely recommend it if you really liked Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.

The League, Season 2
My husband and I love The League (an FX show). It’s basically about a group of guys that have a fantasy football team. It’s pretty hilarious. My husband and I are actually in a fantasy football league, so it makes the show that much better. I’m currently (before these Sunday football games) in 3rd place of my 8-team league. Yay me! (I’m the only girl in the league, by the way.)

One thought on “Sunday Salon {10/23/2011}

  1. Oh, I love Dick Van Dyke! And I absolutely want to read The Night Circus.

    A Swift Pure Cry sounds good….

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

