Blast from the Past: The Diary of a Young Girl

January 8-11, 2006
I’m only about half way through, but I must comment on some things. In 8th grade {that would be a mere five years before this entry} we acted out the play of Anne Frank’s life and then went to the ****** {a theater I won’t name to keep my location a little more ambiguous} to watch a real performance. From what I remember, granted it was four years ago, I got the impression the people in the Annex moved minimuly {bad spelling!} and barely at all during the day. My understanding is therefore contradicted now that I know all that they indeed did do to pass their time.

I also have a hard time remembering these entries were based on true events. Some are so funny they seem to have been made up. Like her toe getting stuck in the vacuum cleaner: how does that happen?

I’m reminded now of Zlata Filipovic and how much more depressing her diary was in relation to Anne’s. Zlata clearly stated she felt like Anne, but was scared because she didn’t want that same fate.

“Paper has more patience than people.” ~Saturday, June 20, 1942

“All we can doe is wait, as calmly as possible, for it to end. Jews and Christians alike are waiting, the whole world is waiting, and many are waiting for death.” ~Wednesday, January 13, 1943

“Sometimes I think God is trying to test me, both now and in the future. I’ll have to become a good person on my own, without anyone to serve as a model or advise me, but it’ll make me stronger in the end.” ~Saturday, October 30, 1943

“On top of the world, or in the depths of despair.” ~Goethe

“Riches, prestige, everything can be lost. But the happiness in your own heart can only be dimmed; it will always be there, as long as you live, to make you happy again.” ~Wednesday, February 23, 1944

“People can tell you to shut up, but they can’t keep you from having an opinion.” ~Thursday, March 2, 1944

“Love, what is love? I don’t think you can really put it into words. Love is understanding someone, caring for him, sharing his joys and sorrows. This eventually includes physical love. You’ve shared something, given something away and received something in return, whether or not you’re married, whether or not you have a baby. Losing your virtue doesn’t matter, as long as you know that for as long as you live you’ll have someone at your side who understands you, and who doesn’t have to be shared with anyone else!” ~Thursday, March 2, 1944

“A person who’s happy will make others happy; a person who has courage and faith will never die in misery!” ~Tuesday, March 7, 1944

“I don’t have much in the way of money or worldly possessions, I’m not beautiful, intelligent or clever, but I’m happy, and I intend to stay that way! I was born happy, I love people, I have a trusting nature, and I’d like everyone else to be happy too.” ~Saturday, March 25, 1944

“What’s done can’t be undone, but at least you can keep it from happening again.” ~Sunday, May 7, 1944

“…I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart.” ~Saturday, July 15, 1944

So I really enjoyed this diary, maybe because I found such a famous one from such a simple and mainly normal girl, like my own diaries.

Couple of quick questions: Would its familiarity be so wide known if she had lived? Who turned them in? How does that person feel knowing they killed such a {now} famous teenager? But God only knows…

On Thursday, November 11, 1943, Anne stated her fountain pen was cremated and that’s what she would like to happen to her someday. Did she realize she could have been burned in a camp? She know these kinds of things coupld happen and I found that ironic. Even if she really did die from typhoid.

I love history and I love my diaries. Anne Frank is what I love in one.

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

