First Sunday Salon {10/9/11}

One of the things I enjoy most about reading is finishing a book that I didn’t particularly enjoy–especially if I’ve been reading it for a month. Such was the case this morning when I completed Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. While I did not enjoy the book, I also didn’t dislike it–overall, I suppose it’s a pretty neutral feeling towards the book. I read it for the Readers Imbibing in Peril (RIP) VI Challenge in which I’m participating. But I didn’t find the book to be particularly creepy or anything–I found the movie to be much more so. I digress–there will be more in the actual review post. Besides Rebecca, I finished listening to Honolulu by Alan Brennert this week, as well. I enjoyed it immensly!

I suppose I might admit that one reason I took so long to finish Rebecca was that my husband and I began watching past seasons of How I Met Your Mother on DVD in the last couple weeks. I hadn’t realized that Nick liked the show so much–he’s been wanting to watch like 2-3 hours at a time!!

I’m currently reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (for the RIP VI Challenge) and HP and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling (for the Harry Potter Reading Marathon). Here’s hoping that Miss Peregrine’s will be more of a creepy fit, in my mind, than was Rebecca.

3 thoughts on “First Sunday Salon {10/9/11}

  1. I loved Rebecca when I first read it as a teenager…I’ve bought it again, so I’m curious as to how I’ll feel about it at this point in my life.

    I’m curious about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. Books in the Burbs says:

    I admire you for reading an uninteresting book for a whole month!! Talk about commitment!! I’d love to know your thoughts on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children! I am teetering on buying it…

    • Kristie says:

      I’m about 1/3 of the way through Miss Peregrine’s and I’m really liking it so far. It’s got a slightly creepy feel to it, the cause of which I can’t seem to pinpoint. I think one thing is just the pictures. If I saw the pictures elsewhere and not associated with a book I know is supposed to be strange, I probably wouldn’t think anything of them. I specifically asked for this book for my birthday and I’m very glad that I own it. I think it’ll be one I enjoy and will read again when I’m in the mood for something spooky (or just different). Hope you at least read it!! Let me know if you do. I think I’ll probably finish this by the weekend so be on the lookout for a review 🙂

Leave a Reply

