BBW 2011 Read: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

~~Banned Books Week (BBW) 2011 takes place September 24th-October 1st~~

TitleHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Author: JK Rowling
Genre: YA fantasy
ISBN: 9780439139601
Length: 734 pages
Published: 2000
Source: personal collection
Rating: 5/5
Resolutions/Challenges: Harry Potter Reading Marathon 2011 hosted by Shannon at Giraffe Days
Here is Shannon’s post about Goblet of Fire.
Here are two more reviews: Lucybird’s Book Blog and Sky Ink.

Reason for Reading: I love Harry Potter 🙂

Summary (from back of book):

Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Change, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competitions that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal–even by wizarding standards.

And in his case, different can be deadly.

My Thoughts: I have begun to notice something with rereads. It is pretty impossible for me to write about my thoughts about it 😦 I have no problem in the Harry Potter instance with comparing it to the movie I’ve seen countless times since the last read. But to really think about the book on its own, is kind of hard. I don’t really know where to start when thinking about the book. All I have is a collection of random thoughts about the story. So here are some random thoughts.

  • This film is sooo different from the book it isn’t even funny. The timeline is all wrong and there is so much that is cut out. Yes, I still like the film and will continue watching it rather than trying to read the book that often. But, this is one when you honestly can’t take the movie’s word on.
  • I love that Ron and Hermione have their little altercation about what their relationship is. I actually am beginning to think that the movies display their growing relationship more than the books do with describing them. But I still get that vibe from the writing.
  • The first time I read this book was the first time while reading the series that I wished the focus strayed from Harry. Yeah, yeah, everyone loves Harry. And the books are all “Harry Potter and the…” But I wanted to see some more of someone else, especially Ron. Because I love Ron–he’s pretty goofy sometimes. But  I was getting sick of only Harry. Pretty sure that was due to the fact that Rowling had written that Ron was feeling overshadowed, again, but to a larger extent in this novel. She did a great job with that one!
  • There are a lot of politics in this book that I forgot about. I mean, the film GREATLY overlooks all of the crap with the Ministry that is going on. Especially with Bagman. And even Fudge being an idiot at the end is so underplayed in the film. Oh, and Hermione’s issue with the house elves and slavery. Have to admit that I honestly forgot about that!
  • In this book, Harry becomes more of an equal with Dumbledore. The ending alone shows the transition of Harry from the boy who looked up to Dumbledore for guidance and help to the young man who sought comradery and working side-by-side with Dumbledore.
  • The ending of this book is so much darker than the rest of the the book. Yeah, there is a lot of ominous foreshadowing throughout the story. But the ending is such good preparation for what’s to come. I feel the movie ending makes it seem like there’s not that much left in the story of Harry vs. Voldemort–like there could be only one more book. But the ending of the book is better at foretelling  just how much of a struggle there is left and how much more Harry must mature to finally end the Harry vs. Voldemort struggle.
  • I love that on page 417 (of my edition) Dumbledore finds the Room of Requirement as he is desperately searching for a bathroom 🙂
|
Memorable Quotes/Passages:
If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.
~~Sirius, p525
|
…we should exercise caution with our curiousity.
~~Dumbledore, p598
|
Here are Shannon’s questions for discussion about Goblet of Fire for those of us doing the Harry Potter Read-A-Long:

Discussion Questions:

1. What did you think of the movie adaptation of this book,and how well the changes they made worked?

2. What was your favourite scene in this book?

3. What are your thoughts and opinions on the heftier political aspects of this book?

1) While there were SOOO many changes the movie made to the book, I think they did a great job deciding what needed to be kept in and what could go. I mean, I watch the movie over and over (pretty much whenever it’s on TV) so obviously I don’t loathe it or anything. Let’s be honest, Hermione’s SPEW cause really isn’t imperative to the story. Both Order of the Phoenix and Half-Blood Prince were published before Goblet of Fire (the movie) was released. So it was easier, I think, for the movie-people to know what would be important for the story–SPEW never really comes up again, therefore, there was no real need for including it in the movie. Although I am a little sad that Dobby didn’t get his glory in this book. I mean, he did help Harry with that gillyweed bit. But we’ll never know that. Oddly enough, it made me a little sad to be reminded that Neville didn’t come up with the gillyweed–I really loved that in the movie he got some glory. Can’t have it both ways, I suppose!
|
2) I have to admit that my favorite scene is probably when Hermione calls Ron out about not asking her to the ball–she doesn’t like being treated like dirt until he needs someone. I love this scene in the movie, too. It’s funny because I actually have a couple of friends who are in the Hermione-Ron stage–they have been for years! 🙂 My girlfriend is often only paid any attention, in a more-than-a-friend manner, when my brother-in-law doesn’t have another girl in mind 😦 And I honestly think they will end up together–even if it takes 7 years (already been 5). Perhaps that similarity alone is a reason I like this scene so much.
Oh, and I really do love the ending where Dumbledore is pretty much telling Fudge he’s a frickin’ idiot 🙂 Put him in his place!!
|
3) I like that there are more politics in this book. I think all of the issues presented towards the end, about Fudge quieting something up because he wants to look good, really show the true colors of some politicians in reality. Plus, it just goes to show the younger adults in the book–Harry, Ron, and Hermione especially–that just because adults are adults doesn’t mean they are right or do the right thing. There will always be people out there who take that path that is easy over the path that is right. I think Dumbledore was very right in pointing that out in his amazing speech at the Leaving Feast. And I did enjoy that house elves and giants were added to this book, at least as far as magical creatures that aren’t wizards/witches go. Yeah, house elves were introduced in Chamber of Secrets. But the species wasn’t really talked about as a species, just Dobby and he is something special in his group.
Leave a Reply

