Top Ten Tuesday: But Everyone Else Has Done It…

Do you remember, when you were younger, how you always wanted to do what everyone else did and have what everyone else had? Well, the topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is “Top Ten Books I Feel Everyone Else Has Read But Me”. (Just to remind you, that’s hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.) Now, technically that doesn’t mean they are books we WANT to read, as my opening question would have you believe. And, believe me, there are some books that a lot of people have read that I have no interest in, so there will be both books I want to read and books I DON’T want to read.

1) any of the Lord of the Rings series
Not sure if there really are that many people that have read one or another of this series. But it just seems like a book a lot of people know.

2) Animal Farm or 1984 by George Orwell
As more contemporary British classics, I feel that a lot of people have read these books. Interestingly enough, these British works are popular required readings in American high schools.

3) Lord of the Flies by William Golding
There are so many people out there who have had to read this book for high school–again, possibly an American thing.

4) anything by Dickens, with the exception of A Christmas Carol
I have not read ANYTHING by Dickens, except A Christmas Carol which I read first in 8th grade. I feel like lots of people have at least read something of Dickens’.

5) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

6) Anna Karenina or many other long novels by Russian authors
I am very inexperienced with the Russian authors. Pretty much all I have to my credit is Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol. No Tolstoy. No Dostoevsky.

7) anything by Mark Twain
Yeah, I haven’t read Tom Sawyer or Huckleberry Finn or any of Mark Twain’s work. And, again, this might just make me feel a little like a bad American 😦

8 ) and, since I’m running out of ideas for books I haven’t read, here’s a few books I read recently that I felt everyone but me had read (before reading them, obviously):
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
-the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Interestingly enough, those books I feel lots of people have read are older books. Not sure why, but I guess I feel they deserve more due than any newer books a lot of people read. That and I don’t think that brand new books can really prove they are worth everyone reading them until they’ve been around awhile.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: But Everyone Else Has Done It…

  1. bookworm says:

    I haven’t read anything by Mark Twain either, but I think it’s more an American thing (maybe people have to read some of his books for high school?) so let’s blame it on me being European… I read The Help this year because everyone was going on about it and I felt like the last person in the world to read it.

  2. I have only read one Dickens too, although in my case it was A Tale of Two Cities. To be honest, it kind of scared me off Dickens because I hated it, but I still hope to try some of his other works at some point.

  3. megan says:

    Russian classics are challenging, and I am not very well-read in that area either, but I prefer Dostoevsky. I read The Help because everyone else was too and really enjoyed it. I recommend The Hunger Games too. Here is my list http://wp.me/pzUn5-zF

  4. I read Animal Farm in high school, but I’m with you on the rest of these!

  5. Eh? George Orwell was British! But I do recommend both of those books, even if I didn’t get a chance to finish 1984 before I moved to Japan and still haven’t got around to re-reading it so I can! That’s definitely something I need to fix.

    Oh yes Mark Twain, I haven’t read him either!! I’ve seen two plays on, er, is it Tom Sawyer or Huckleberry Finn? What’s the difference again? I mean, are they two separate stories or what? I’ve always been confused by that!

    I haven’t read Lord of the Flies either – in high school we watched the black and white movie instead! But I got a copy a few years ago because I’d really like to read it.

    • Kristie says:

      You are correct–not sure why I wrote that Orwell was American. Because I know him to be British haha But thanks for pointing it out (I’ll edit it accordingly 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

