Blast from the Past: In the Shadow of the Ark

December 28-31, 2005
Pretty interesting rendition of the Noah’s Ark tale. Obviously there are some known facts included. Mary, Called Magdalene was like this; sort of challenging the Bible. But not saying, “The Bible is wrong, I’m right.” It’s an embellishment to the Genesis tale.

Of course, the end with the names of the sons of Ham, Shem, and Japeth made me mad. No mention of women. Did the sons impregnate mothers, sisters, cousins or aunts? It’s always a question I’ve thought of. Did they, like the monarchies of more recent times, scrape the bottom of the gene pool and get “frumpy” kids?

Pretty okay book.

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

Leave a Reply

