Utterly Upset, Unfortunately

The next Dewey Readathon is Saturday, October 22nd. I have been looking forward to this for months, ever since the April Readathon occurred on a day I had many prior engagements. I’ve even been making up a list of books I want to read for the marathon and deciding if I want to do more blogging during the marathon than I typically do. And I even planned on trying to read for as much of the 24 hours as I could this year, not half-ass it like years past (pardon my French).

Then last night I found out that my brother-in-law is going to be getting his American FFA Degree at the National Convention on Saturday, October 22nd 😦 (This is a very big accomplishment and really important in my husband’s society, that of the farmers.) I felt even worse when I heard the news because, for a mere second, I started thinking of ways I could get out of going, and that’s just not right. While I love reading, no one else I know would understand how I could even consider reading more important than watching thousands of people get FFA awards for the glimpse of my brother-in-law (which I don’t, but for a mere second sort of did).

So it looks like I’m going to try what I did last time–do the Readathon, but the next day instead. But it’s still not the same as doing it when hundreds around the world are doing it.

One thought on “Utterly Upset, Unfortunately

  1. TBM says:

    That’s too bad about the timing. But I admire your devotion.

Leave a Reply

