Blast from the Past: The Distant Land of My Father

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

December 10-23, 2005
I was really pleased with this book 🙂 After finally hearing (or reading) about WWII through eyes in Holland {Postcards from No Man’s Land}, I moved on to China, which was more antagonized by Japan (unlike the Germans I mostly hear about). Anna’s story is so sad after being so happy for once, and I liked learning about Chinese history.

“Love and attention make all things grow.” (p198)

“Health is not valued until illness comes.” (p308)

Leave a Reply

